The Eclectic Reader

Try #2

My apologies to all of you who received my last post with nothing more than a title. I incorrectly copied the graphic above, and that messed things up. Oh, well. Live and learn – and do a preview before posting.

Anyhoo…The idea of the challenge is to read one book from each of the following genres this year and post a review for each by December 21, 2012.

Participants don’t have to choose the books ahead of time, but I’ve made a tentative list.

1. Literary Fiction – suggestions welcome

2. Crime/Mystery FictionAll Different Kinds of Free by Jessica McCann

3. Romantic FictionNickels by Karen Baney (As soon as I saw the title, I knew I had to read this book.)

4. Historical FictionA Sound Among the Trees (almost done)

5. Young AdultFrom Blah to Awe by Jenna Lucado Bishop (done)

6. FantasyNew Spring by Robert Jordan (My kids have been wanting me to read The Wheel of Time series. Who knows what I’m getting myself into?)

7. Science FictionLight of Eidon by Karen Hancock

8. Non-fiction -The Son in My Eyes by Mai Spencer

9. Horror – Anyone know of something short that won’t keep me up nights and would be rated PG if it was a movie? (Can you tell this is not my genre of choice?)

10. Thriller/SuspenseHide in Plain Sight by Marta Perry

11. ClassicLittle Women by Louisa May Alcott

12. Your Favourite GenreMy Emily by Matt Patterson

If you want to learn more, check out the details here.

Categories: Book Reviews | Tags: , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “The Eclectic Reader

  1. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    Hi
    Glad to have you join me for the Eclectic Reader Challenge!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d out

  2. Great challenge, but when am I going to have time to write? LOL

  3. Sounds like fun, Stephanie! I may have to participate myself. Since I have trouble colouring within the lines, I’ll substitute horror. Maybe westerns. Haven’t read one of those in a while.

    Horror suggestions for you… this one really pushed my limits and I don’t know if I can read more of the series, but Dean Koontz’ Odd Thomas is really good. He’s a very good writer, and he’s funny too. Just a bit of a stretch for this timid reader. I liked Odd, though. (That’s really his name.)

  4. At Janet’s suggestion, I think I’ll add “Odd Thomas” to the list under the horror heading. At least if it includes funny parts, I may be able to get through it.

    • It’s a dry humour… hope the book isn’t too creepy for you. I meant to say too — enjoy New Spring. When I re-read the entire first book (NS is only part 1 of 2) I watched what the author did. He was so good at evoking characters and setting, and at always complicating the characters’ lives. You know, thwart the character’s goal so he/she’ll have to keep struggling but now the stakes are higher.

  5. I’m not sure if it truly qualifies, but because “The Help” made one list of literary fiction, and because I’m already reading it, I’m going to add that under the LF category. There. Done. Okay, only the list is done, but I shouldn’t have a problem reading these books over the next eleven months. Happy Reading

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,753 other followers

