From Blah to Awe

And once again life imitates art…well, sort of.

This past weekend sixteen of us from my church went to Lansing, Michigan for the Music Matters conference.

Because of the excellent sessions – and our brainstorming times afterward – we came back refreshed and renewed and ready to worship God in mind, soul, and spirit.

The services on Sunday were such a blessing. Was it because something had changed externally or was it because I had changed? Both!

I have gone to church quite faithfully throughout my adult life, but I can honestly say I’ve never woken up on Sunday and been filled with so much joy and expectation. Plus, when I noticed that it was 7:00 p.m., I was disappointed that the evening service was almost over. I’ve felt that way maybe three times in my life.

It wasn’t simply an emotional response, a high so to speak. It was something much deeper, much more real.

And that’s what Jenna Lucado Bishop – the daughter of my favourite non-fiction author, Max Lucado – writes about in From Blah to Awe.

The book is written with a teen girl audience in mind, but I enjoyed it immensely and would recommend it to anyone, girls and women especially, who finds their faith has grown dry.

The author covers such topics as feeling blah (as the title suggests); identifying the ugly areas in our hearts; how our flesh (our selfish desires) gets in the way; identifying those things that occupy our thoughts; our need to be accepted by those around us, a need that often overshadows our need to be accepted by God…

I especially appreciate the contemporary retelling of a handful of Bible stories. Like her father, Bishop makes them come alive while remaining true to the biblical text.

I also like the stories of young women who are making a difference in the world and the space included in the book for journaling the reader’s thoughts and answers to the questions the author presents. The To Sum It Up section at the end of each chapter is also extremely handy.

As I’ve said before, I highly value honesty, and Bishop exhibits this clearly. She shares the truth about her own heart and her own relationships, about the times she has felt blah about her faith and her God.

As readers put into practice the suggestions in the book and as we seek to worship God in mind, soul, and body, we will go from blah to awe.

I would highly recommend From Blah to Awe and appreciate booksneeze.com for the free e-copy in exchange for this review.

Categories: Book Reviews | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,766 other followers

