Words Matter Blog Challenge – Days 4 & 5

Day 4What person in your life helped you understand the importance of choosing words carefully?  What would you say to them if you met them today?

After almost thirty years, I suppose I qualify as “an old married lady.” In those three decades I’ve learned a thing or two about the importance of the words I choose when relating to those closest to me.

My husband and I wrote our own vows. As Christians, we looked to the Bible as the source of our inspiration. Dave promised to “love me as Christ loved the church.”

I thought, “Nice sentiment, but how is that possible?” Well, truth be told, he has spent our married lives doing just that.

In the early years, my emotions were all over the board. Poor guy! At the end of the day, he never knew what he’d be walking into. Far too often, I would blow up for no good reason. When I did, I’d see the hurt in his eyes. He refused to get caught up in the cycle, and instead, always expressed patience and compassion.

Because he did so, I can honestly say I don’t remember the last time we argued. It didn’t mean I was always even tempered, but it did prevent many hurtful encounters.

Thankfully, I get to tell my husband each day how much I love and appreciate him.

Words – and the way we say them – can make all the difference in our relationships.

Day 5If you had to eliminate one word or phrase from the English language, what would it be?  Why?
Beyond swear words, all of which I would eliminate if it was up to me, I would eliminate the phrase “oh, never mind.”
This phrase can be interpreted in a number of ways.
1. “I can’t be bothered explaining myself.”
2. “This conversation is not worth the effort.”
3. “You are not worth the effort.”
4. “If you can’t see things my way, well…hmph!”
5. “I’d rather sulk than explain myself.”
As someone who has dealt with the frustration of feeling unable to explain myself, I understand why people resort to saying, “Oh, never mind.”
As a communicator, I know words matter.
As a friend and family member, I know it’s important to listen to an other’s perspective and to explain oneself fully.
Categories: Uncategorized, Writing Prompts | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Words Matter Blog Challenge – Days 4 & 5

  1. I love that you see your husband as loving you as Christ loved the church. How beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,773 other followers

