The Other Baby Book

As a birth doula-in-training, I have many books on my shelves about childbirth and related topics. However, none of them are like The Other Baby Book by Miriam J. Katz and Megan McGrory Massaro.

This book touches on hot button topics with grace and well-founded research. Katz and Massaro do not try to convince you that their way of parenting is the only way. In fact, they have not always made the same choices for their individual families.

Of course some of the topics, such as the benefits of breastfeeding, came as no surprise. And, although I heard very little about it when my three were growing up, there is more and more talk about co-sleeping and baby-wearing. However, the book also covers topics I’ve never come across, topics such as elimination communication (recognizing pretty much from the start when your little one has to “go”) and baby-led solids (what I consider a wonderful way to introduce solid food to your child).

You may think this is not for you. The ideas may sound too strange and unconventional. But before you disregard this book, I would encourage you to read it and check out the studies cited. You might be surprised and discover a thing or two you’d like to try. At the very least, it will give you some things to think about and perhaps new respect for parents who make different choices for their families.

The Other Baby Book truly is a beautiful tribute to family and how to make childrearing a wondrous time for parents and babies alike. The authors don’t claim it will always be easy. Let’s face it, any of us who have children know there will be challenges along the way. However, when you’ve finished reading this book, you may be more ready than ever for the grand adventure of raising children.

My children are now grown, ages 22-27, and I wish I’d had this book when they were young. I would have done some things differently.

Upon mentioning I would be glad to write a review, I was sent a PDF copy of the book. It isn’t often, I want to rush out and buy a paper copy of an e-book I’ve read. However, I very much look forward to adding this one to my library. Without a doubt, I will be recommending it to my clients.

You can learn more here.

If you would like to pre-order the book, check out Amazon.

If you want to learn more about childbirth, pregnancy, and the role of a birth doula, check out my posts under Welcome Baby Labour Support.

Happy Parenting

Categories: Book Reviews | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,782 other followers

