Am I Brave Enough?

Cleaning Tools Pic

2014 – The Year of the Great De-Clutter

The above image is what I had in mind when I looked at my overstuffed laundry room (exemplary of pretty much the whole house) and decided next year is the year.

However, seems the de-cluttering may go far beyond sorting, organizing, and chucking.

What about my Action Plan and all those shiny distractions . . . and what about the things from the past that I’m holding onto for no particular reason? Just because I can do something doesn’t mean I should.

Time to de-clutter my list and my head.

Recently, I was chatting with my hubby and our daughter over dessert at the local coffee shop. For the first time I said out loud that maybe it’s time to let go of my personal trainer certification. It will save time, money, and energy – since I haven’t done much with it in the last few years.

Does that mean I chuck the idea of finishing my CAPPA Pregnancy Fitness Educator certification? I’m not convinced yet that I will. That’s still in the Undecided column.

Seems to me editing, writing, and doula-ing is more than enough to keep me busy . . . not to mention de-cluttering the house, exercising regularly, and spending more time planning and prepping nutritious meals for my family and myself. All that plus spending time with family and friends (in person or via the Internet) will probably be plenty, don’t you think?

And why the title of this post? It takes courage to let go of the oo-shiny-I-want-to-do-that things that gave me a sense of accomplishment. If I’m too busy doing this, that, and the other thing, I won’t have the time and energy to do the things I’m supposed to do.

ROW Logo

So, how am I going to begin the de-clutter of my Action Plan this busy, busy month?

Editing

- continue to work on four manuscripts (The plan is to have them completed by the end of the year.)

Writing

- blog posts for SNEI, Kimberley Payne’s site, CES, and UTCOP (Yep, that should be enough for this month.)

- create a schedule for posting on the social networks

Connecting

- create a list of people with whom to connect and do so

What’s your theme for 2014?

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Am I Brave Enough?

  1. I can’t speak for you, but I know the idea of giving up projects and “stuff” is as much out of a fear that I won’t be able to finish the one or two things I need to finish anyway, and having all the extra stuff to deal with ‘justifies’ (in a sense) my failure. That’s just me though.

    You sound like you have a far better sense than I do. ;-)

    • It’s interesting to consider why we do what we do. Personally, I have to find the right balance. If I take on something new and exciting, it often motivates me to complete the projects I have on the go. If I take on too much, everything grinds to a halt. Balancing life . . . a full-time job in itself. :)

      All the best this week, Eden.

      • I think you have it right there in the word ‘balance’, Steph. I tend to take on a lot of tasks just out of a sense that I ‘should’ rather than passion. Those tend to get left by the wayside too much, but I still feel that obligation so…

        Balancing is definitely a full-time job.

        Thank you. May you also enjoy the same and the joy of the season.

  2. I did the de-clutter thing of activities a few years ago. Now I’m just trying to keep a regular schedule for what is left, which isn’t a lot. Focusing is my problem. I get distracted easily, even when it’s something like time. I may be the only person who gets distracted by time, itself, but that’s the way it is.

    • They say, “Keeping up is easier than catching up.” I wouldn’t know. I don’t think I’ve ever actually been caught up. :)

      Have a great week – with minimal distractions.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,704 other followers

