Simply Worthy of Imitation

The title of the Spark People post that came to my inbox on Friday inspired me. I truly want to “be worthy of imitation.”

I’m learning the following lessons for living a simpler life, and it feels great. I hope they encourage you.

1. I love books. If you’ve followed my blog for any length of time, you’ve heard this – again and again and again. I’ve come to love e-books as well. (That came as a surprise, actually.) It saves money and creates less clutter to download the books I want to read.

2. And on the subject of reading, I have to be on guard. I always have several books on the go at once. I’ve come to the realization that, in this area, as in all others, I will never accomplish all I want to accomplish. There will always be more books and blogs than I have time to read – and I’m okay with that.

3. One more word about books…I’m a visual learner with many areas of interest (thus, the title of my blog). A snazzy cover will grab my attention, but I’ve learned to ask myself, “Do I have a similar book at home that I haven’t read or should read again?” before even entertaining the thought of purchasing another book.

4. And clothes…I work from home. I attend church on Sundays and occasionally go out with friends. My wardrobe is fairly sparse compared to many others’, but I apply the same criteria when it comes to buying clothes. “Do I have something at home that will do?” If the answer is yes, at least nine times out of ten, I leave the item in the store. (I recently purchased some warm pajamas that were on sale, an okay indulgence when the snow crunches under your boots.)

5. This may sound strange to many of you, but I’ve learned that doing a little around the house is better than doing nothing. It may seem self-evident, but it’s a remarkable revelation to this horrible housekeeper. Taking even one item upstairs on my way past the piles on the steps is better than leaving them there for “some other time.”

6. I’ve learned, as a perpetual list-maker, the value of writing down everything so I don’t forget to do what’s important – although I still forget at times. I’ve also learned the joy of being okay if I don’t accomplish everything on my list. As long as I seek to do the most important things first, the others can easily be moved to another day.

7. And while I’m building some truly wonderful friendships online, there comes a time when it’s best to shut off the computer and hang out with real people in the real world. That way they can tell if I’m truly worthy of imitation.

 

Leave a Reply

