Fly Free

For a minute,

Just a minute,

I allowed

The ridiculous

New standards of beauty

To influence

My fitness goals.

I listened to that lying voice,

The voice that says,

You will be more valuable

If you’re thinner…

You will be more valued

If you’re thinner.

I know better.

I rarely even hear

This voice,

Never mind listen to it.

And then

The light went on

Again.

I changed my goals

And

I hope

I’ll have the opportunity

To encourage you

To make goals

That help you

Fly free,

Knowing

You are valuable,

You are valued,

Here and now

Just as you are.

2 thoughts on “Fly Free

Leave a Reply

