Simplifying Life

I’m excited. It’s only January 28, and I’ve already learned some important lessons about simplifying my life.

I was very concerned about my three grown kids. And then one day in church, it hit me: I had to recommit them to the Lord. The most important thing is that they live their lives in such a way that God is honoured and glorified. And that’s so much more than simply how they behave. It’s about their relationships with Him and the condition of their hearts and how their lives fit with His overall plan. As their mother, I will never stop praying for them. However, after taking my hands off, as it were, I experienced peace like never before.

It’s much simpler when I remember God must have the #1 place in my life.

I also had to face the fact that I don’t share my faith more deliberately because 1) I don’t want to get the timing wrong or fumble the words and 2) I don’t want others to think less of me. That second one is incredibly embarrassing. If I truly care about my family and friends, I should want to share the best news ever with them.

It simplifies that big question when I realize this is the most important thing I will ever accomplish. The Question: What is my purpose?

I’ve dealt with a bad habit for decades. It isn’t as dramatic or dangerous as smoking or using drugs, but it has all the earmarks of an addiction. And as long as I downplayed and denied it, it had power over me. Well, as crazy as it seems, I listed overcoming this habit in my list of goals over at A Round of Words in 80 Days. Putting it out there was a very good thing. It’s still not a thing of the past, but at least it’s out in the open.

It simplifies life when we don’t hide our weaknesses. Knowing that others know about them makes us face them head-on, at least it does me.

And speaking of things I’ve been hiding…

I’ve never been good with money. Our finances are testimony to that. However, over the course of the last year, I’ve been learning some important lessons. It feels good not to spend what I don’t have. I get a sense of satisfaction walking through the stores without feeling compelled to buy anything. No matter how pretty or shiny or delicious something looks, I’ve learned to say no – especially when I have something that will serve the same function at home.

It is still an uphill battle, but learning not only to say no, but finding great satisfaction in doing so, is very liberating.

I’ve learned other lessons as well, but these are some of the highlights, and hey, it isn’t even February yet.

2 thoughts on “Simplifying Life

  1. Heather.

    God is glorified. You are beautiful and I look forward to witnessing the unfolding of His wonderful plans for you this coming new year.

Leave a Reply

