Allegiance

As I was thinking

Of what to write today

I considered the connections I’ve made.

I don’t regret any of them.

And yet

Am I standing firm

And remaining true

To who I am

To what I believe?

Where is my allegiance

When I care more about

What others think

Than what the Creator thinks?

I am not standing firm

When I make excuses

And shrink into the background.

I am not showing

True care and compassion

For those with whom

I rub shoulders

In person

Or online.

When my reputation

Matters more to me

Than that of

The Lord Jesus Christ,

I risk denying Him.

So

With the singer/songwriter

Ray Boltz

I say,

I pledge allegiance to the Lamb,

With all my strength,

With all I am,

I will seek to honor His command,

I pledge allegiance to the Lamb.

Leave a Reply

