Happy Words Matter Week

Days 1 & 2 of the Words Matter Blog Challenge. (Check it out here.)

Day 1 “Writers craft words into memorable phrases, stories, poems and plays. Who are the writers who make your heart sing? Why?”

This is such a difficult question for me to answer. I have eclectic tastes and read many different authors and writers.

Currently, I am reading Frank Peretti’s newest novel, Illusion. Peretti offered free chapters of the book to those who “liked” his Facebook page. I was hooked from the first paragraph, and so far, he has sent out twenty chapters. If I had the book in my hands, I’m sure I would find it difficult to set aside. Peretti’s This Present Darkness is the first book I remember trying to read while doing housework. I have no idea how the many mysteries of Illusion will be resolved, but I look forward to finding out. Books that keep me turning the pages are among those that make my heart sing.

I am also reading Margaret Brownley’s Dawn Comes Early. I’ve gasped and laughed aloud while reading it. I’m always impressed when an author can evoke such a response without the benefit of soundtracks and special effects.(Stephenie Meyer’s The Host was the first book that made me sob aloud. Oddly, I count it among books that made my heart soar.)

I am honoured to belong to Women Writing for Christ. Heather carefully crafts beautiful poems, some of which I have posted here on my site. Barbara also writes lovely poems, as does Rita. (I’ve posted some of her work as well.) Darlene writes challenging blog posts at Dream, Believe, Fly. Lisa shares personal stories on her site and great information about the craft of writing with her co-writer, Marcy, at Girls with Pens. Their work makes my heart soar, as does their friendship.

There are so many others, but space is limited.

Day 2 What word, said or unsaid, has or could change your life? How?

Worship…I attended the Worship Matters conference in Lansing, Michigan last month with a dozen others from my church. Bob Kauflin’s last session was about the importance of worshiping God with our entire being: body, mind, and spirit. It isn’t just about going to church on Sundays and trying to do the right thing. It’s about showing others what we truly believe not only with our words, but with our actions as well.

And how will this affect my writing? While I don’t always refer specifically to matters of faith, I want to encourage and uplift readers at every opportunity. Last week two amazing things happened. 1) I attended the birth of a beautiful baby boy and 2) a poem I had written in his and his late great grandfather’s honour was read at the funeral. Words really do matter!

4 thoughts on “Happy Words Matter Week

Leave a Reply

