Heart Treasures

The other night I was thinking through what may be a non-issue. When I asked the Lord if I should talk to a family member about it, He brought to mind the scripture that says, “Mary treasured all these things in her heart.”

I believe God was challenging me to treasure this particular uncertainty. As I posted on Facebook, “Hurdle or opportunity? It’s all a matter of perspective.”

Accepting that His plans are best – or at least, inevitable – is not the same as fatalism…especially when you come to realize that “God is love” and can be trusted 100 percent.

His perspective is not ours. Yet, He challenges us to take our thoughts “captive to Christ.” How can we do that? Well, as believers, God’s Word says we have the mind of Christ. He doesn’t ask us to do anything He doesn’t empower us to do.

As you may remember, I came to a place of total peace about my children’s future when I asked God to be glorified in their lives – no matter what that meant.

“Be anxious for nothing…” – not for my grown children’s future and not for my own.

How about the challenge to “give no thought to tomorrow”? Does that mean we don’t plan ahead? No, but worry and dwelling on the “what ifs” won’t do us any good. We must make the most of each moment. It’s too easy to get caught up in the day-to-day and put off the truly important.

I have been challenged to once again, put first things first.

You may remember that 2012 is my personal Year of No Excuses. That means putting procrastination behind me, especially in the areas that matter the most.

I’ve also been challenged to “be still” and know that He is God. It’s too easy to keep busy – physically and/or mentally – in this age of iPads, smartphones, and e-readers. Are we ever really still? Do we take the time to quieten our hearts and minds? Too often the answer is no.

Today – and in the days ahead – I want to do just that. Then I will be able to treasure those things the Lord is teaching me. And, when the time is right, I will share my insights as He directs.

Enjoy this amazing season, the most amazing season in the history of mankind. Let us celebrate Jesus Christ’s life, death, and resurrection – now and always!

2 thoughts on “Heart Treasures

  1. Steph, thank YOU for this post. The Lord also challenged me with something this weekend. And…my sister used the same verse when I was “chatting” with her via email. You just confirmed it for me! Bless you.
    Darlene xo

Leave a Reply

