The Irony of Healthy Living

I’m too busy to workout.

Regular exercise enables us to think more clearly and work more efficiently.

I’m can’t be bothered eating well.

Eating well will give us energy and motivation.

I have to stay up late to finish my work.

Truth be told, there will always be something else that needs to be done. In order to be as productive as possible, we need adequate rest.

I’m not thirsty. Why should I drink more water? Won’t juice or pop do?

It is my understanding that if we’re thirsty, we’re actually beginning to dehydrate. Water has so many benefit, including flushing impurities from our bodies and lubricating our joints. Even juices without added sugar have a high concentrate of natural sugars. Many types of pop have caffeine, which is a diuretic that rids our bodies of hydration. Plus, pop can alter the chemical balance in our bodies, and that can lead to problems.

I just need to vegetate.

We all need a break from our daily routine. Rest and relaxation in and of themselves are not bad. However, if you’re like me, simply plopping down to watch TV or play endless hours of video games, does nothing to fill our depleted energy stores. An active break, like going for a walk, has many physical, mental, and emotional benefits.

I can do it on my own.

Can? Possibly. But the real question is this: Will you? I actually like to exercise…but I don’t do it often enough. I enjoy healthy food…but too often choose what is quick and easy. I don’t love water, but I don’t mind it either…and I drink way too little of it. Working out with a buddy or going for a walk with my hubby are much easier for me than doing it on my own.

So, I want to encourage you this week to choose just one healthy habit that you have not developed and put it on your schedule. I’d love to hear about your successes.

Leave a Reply

