Simply Prioritize

As I’ve said countless times before, I’m all about relationships. Although I don’t always follow the outline below, here are some ideas for keeping my priorities straight. I trust you will be able to adapt them according to your life and priorities.

My Relationship with the Lord

I don’t start every day with prayer and Bible reading, but this is a great way to direct my focus to the most important relationship in my life.

My Relationship with Immediate Family

I attempt to make myself available to my family when they are around. My eldest son and daughter still live at home. It’s easy to touch base, though we don’t spend as much time together as you might think.

I was trying to sit down to a family supper once per week, but that has gone by the wayside. It was delightful sharing a meal on both Good Friday and Resurrection Sunday. I want to go back to eating together at least once or twice per month.

It will be more difficult staying in touch with my son who lives in Saskatchewan. He is a quiet, contemplative sort and doesn’t initiate conversation. I will have to send a weekly or bi-weekly interrogation form, as I call it.

Spending time with my hubby can be the simple act of watching a favourite TV show or going out for coffee. Ours is not a high maintenance marriage.

Before I go on, I must say that generating income is necessary for our financial well-being. I consider the time I spend doing so to be for my family.

When I was younger, I fretted about housework like most moms do. However, I discovered along the way that peace is far more important to me than a tidy house. If what I do truly benefits the family, I consider it worthwhile. If not, it can wait. (Just an FYI…I don’t consider “dirty” and “untidy” synonymous.)

My Relationship with Friends

I keep in touch with those who are Facebook fairly faithfully. However, I have found it too easy to lose touch with those who aren’t – and even some who are.

I used to use the postal system regularly. Perhaps, it’s time I did so again.

My Relationship with Church Family

Faithful church attendance, participation in the children’s mid-week program,  and regular attendance at our Thursday night Growth Groups has seen these relationships grow. I also participate in the sound room ministry, which means practice on Saturday morning.

My Relationship with Extended Family

At this point, I want to take a moment and say that I’m not mentioning my extended family at this point because they are last in order of importance. However, with my schedule and responsibilities as they are, I spend very little time with family. We try to visit my mother-in-law monthly and get together with my side of the family once or twice a year. Plus, if there is a special occasion and there is any way I can attend, I try to make it. Other than that, I again rely on Facebook.

My Other Relationships

Writing and editing clients. Doula clients. Social contacts. Professional contacts. Volunteer contacts. It is my aim to encourage whomever I come in contact with, treating others the way I want to be treated…except telemarketers – I hang up on them before they even say hello. (grin)

2 thoughts on “Simply Prioritize

Leave a Reply

