April 15 ROW Check-in

Kait suggested we up our goals a little this week. Sounds good to me. That said…

Editing Goals

Complete edit of 90,000-word manuscript on prayer (I wanted to have this done yesterday at the latest, but that didn’t happen. My daughter and I spent the day shopping for outfits to wear to my son’s grad. A good excuse…right? The first and second edits should be done tomorrow.)

Complete edit of 27,000-word fiction manuscript (still awaiting funds)

Edit three poems (TODAY)

Continue as first editor of the Write! On news bulletin (nothing new here, except I’m trying to update the website every now and then)

Writing Goals

Blogging ~ daily posts (on track); weekend posts (I’ve updated my schedule.)

Two five-minute skits for our mid-week kids’ program (TODAY)

Submissions Goals

Submit two items per month starting this month (one submitted to date – no change)

Ultimate Goal: catch up for missed months (total for the year: 2 – also no change)

Reading Goals

Reading for my course (I’m learning to read even during commercials: not ideal, but at least I’m getting it done.)

Reading to maintain my PTS certification (The text is an easy read actually. I don’t think the online exam will be difficult. Plus, this course messes well with my doula course. Bonus!)

Skills development (Once my major editing project is wrapped up, I should be motivated to spend more time reading.)

Fiction (ditto)

Doula Certification Requirements

Finish my reading (see above)

Complete my exam (It is now on my daily schedule. Otherwise, I should be able to spend a day at it and complete the unanswered questions.)

Online lectures (plan to listen to one each weekday; it’s going well)

Letters of recommendation (I want to look into this early this week.)

Exercise & Fitness Goals

Cardio (2 x 40 minutes last week) (two sessions this past week with my workout buddy, hope to get one or two in this week as well)

Resistance training (3 x per week) (Best I do it first thing or it doesn’t get done.)

Row Specific Goals

Check in twice per week (on track)

Check in with other ROWers (not yet)

Keep in touch with my writing buddy (must be more deliberate; she really is an encouraging WB)

Quote of the Day

Don’t get sidetracked by the shiny things. They may just be glitter from your party dress.

4 thoughts on “April 15 ROW Check-in

  1. I don’t think I want a life where I don’t get distracted by the shiny things. Ha!
    I also don’t think I’ve visited you before, so hello! Nice to meet you! Wow, you are up to a lot, and it looks like you’re making serious progress! I love that you’re becoming a doula – like the best thing ever! Of course, mine was also my best friend, so there I’m super lucky. šŸ™‚

  2. You’ve been doing well, keeping track of all the stuff on your plate, Steph. And it’s great to hear that your courses are going well (as is the exercise!!)

    Yes, definitely keep in touch with your WB. Good writing partners are worth their weight in gold. I’m glad you have one.

    Best wishes for the upcoming “Writing week”.

Leave a Reply

