Too Busy?

I’m too busy to exercise?

Remember what I said about working more efficiently and thinking more clearly? (When my three were young, I got into the habit of working out every morning. Now that I’m doing it again, I remember why.)

I’m too busy to eat properly.

I won’t lie. My eating habits are not what they should be, but even taking steps in the right direction has already begun to make me feel better. It just might do the same for you.

I’m too busy to read.

For the time being, my pleasure reading is on hold. However, I do have the privilege of editing other people’s work. I get to read several books while working. I like it!

I’m too busy to go out for coffee.

My problem isn’t grabbing a coffee and chatting for an hour. It’s grabbing a coffee and chatting for three. Hi, I’m Stephanie and once I get going, I like to talk…and talk and talk and talk.

I’m too busy to stop and listen to a friend in need.

My mind is always flitting here, there, and back again. And as I said, I do like to talk. When a friend needs a listening ear, I have to stop not only what I’m doing, but snag those runaway thoughts and listen, really listen. I’m sure I’m not the only one.

I’m too busy to sit in the backyard with my spouse.

I’m glad I didn’t say this last night. My hubby works hard to make our gardens look lovely. He and the family bought me a hammock chair years ago. Every time I sit outside, I wonder why I don’t do it more often. I especially enjoy it in the evening when the garden lights pop on, one by one.

I’m too busy to play with my kids.

Mine, as you probably know, are grown. Two of them still live at home and it’s important to pay attention to them when they want to talk about something important – or nothing in particular. In this age of iThis and iThat, it’s still shows respect to give another our undivided attention. That is becoming harder and harder, but I hope it doesn’t become a lost art.

I’m too busy to sleep.

In my new, detailed schedule, I try to allot seven hours each night for sleep. Our physical, mental, and emotional well-being often hinge on the amount of sleep we get. And, like exercise, adequate sleep helps us think more clearly and work more efficiently.

I’m too busy to clean house.

Please refer to entries under “Confessions of a Horrible Housekeeper” above. (grin)

 

Leave a Reply

