Which Way Do I Go?

Are there days you wish there was an arrow telling you which way to go?

Me too.

The problem is there are arrows.

Some point to the right.

Catch up on the housework.

Exercise.

Find a way to make your son’s birthday a happy one.

Others point to the left.

Work on writing and editing.

Keep track of the goings-on on the social networks.

Read those blog posts that are piling up in your inbox.

Catch up on your own blogging.

Some arrows point down.

Read one of those books you started.

Pay close attention to family and friends.

Let go of something.

But what?

And then, I remember the most important arrow.

This arrow points up.

Oh, yeah!

It’s more than mental assent.

It requires action.

It’s more than a quick prayer as I tumble into my day.

It’s more than a promise to read the Word – later.

It’s more than acknowledging what I should do.

It’s doing it.

I don’t forget.

It’s worse than that.

I know . . . and don’t do.

Things must change.

This is the arrow I must follow

Each and every day.

If anyone, then, knows the good they ought to do and doesn’t do it, it is sin for them.

James 4:17 NIV

Leave a Reply

