How It All Began

I’ve joined the Ultimate Blogging Challenge. There’s still time to join if you’re interested.

My blogging adventure began in June 2010 after hearing Ann Voskamp speak at the Write! Canada conference.

Here is what I wrote:

The journey from idea to blog sometimes, perhaps often, takes many unexpected turns. free2soar has gone from “I think I could blog” to “Maybe I should blog”…from “Living the Dream — and the Nightmare” to “Free to Soar” . . . from prose to poetry. I’m sure there are many more surprises in store, and I’m eager to discover each one. (After beginning several blogs, I brought them all together under one umbrella, Steph Nickel’s Eclectic Interests.)

My first ever post was titled “And So It Begins.”

Free to soar…

Untethered.

Riding the currents high above the ground

Like a magnificent hot air balloon

Or an eagle gliding effortlessly.

While I soar…

Do I unwittingly send others plummeting to the ground?

Do I entangle them in ropes that hinder their flight?

Or do I simply leave them where they are?

Grounded.

As this adventure takes to the sky,

May we all fly a little higher

And help others do the same.

…they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint (Isaiah 40:31, ESV).

Leave a Reply

