Who am I in Christ?

My dear friend Rita Appel’s poetry has been featured here before. Today, I am honoured to share one of her heartfelt works of prose. Thanks so much, Rita.

In Christ, I am . . . SHELTERED.

“I long to dwell in your tent forever and take refuge in the shelter of your wings” (Psalm 61:4 NIV).

Have you ever watched a hen with her chicks?  Whenever danger looms, she calls to them, bidding them to come to her.  As they come close, she opens her wings and enfolds her young within, keeping them sheltered.  There the chicks cuddle together safely until the peril passes.

This is an image of our relationship with our Heavenly Father.  Whenever the storms of life loom in the distance, He calls to us, bidding us enter into His Presence, into the circle of His protecting arms, His wings.  There He will hold us close until the tempest passes.  He does not take us to a place of safety, away from the storm but rather, shelters us in the midst of it.  Just as the chicks trust the hen to protect them, so we must trust our Abba Father.

Are you facing a storm today?  Abba Father is calling you,  “Come to Me and I will shelter you.  Trust Me my child; I will keep you safe in the tempest.  Come close to Me, into My encircling arms.”

Will you allow your Heavenly Father to shelter you today?

Father, the storm is raging about me and I am so afraid. Please calm my fears as you shelter me, O Lord.  Help me know your peace as I rest quietly, secure under your wings.  This I ask in the name of Jesus. Amen.

6 thoughts on “Who am I in Christ?

  1. I hadn’t read Rita’s post but was going to build on the following as the first in a series. I, however, don’t need to “beef it up.” Unintentionally, it seems my friend and I have a theme going one.

    Are you fighting an uphill battle? Do you feel as if no one really understands?

    Those who take the time to study the Bible realize it is a book about very real people and their very gracious God.

    Consider Adam and Eve. They really did have it all: innocence, every need met, a perfect relationship. To top it off, they had a personal, walk with Him, talk with Him relationship with the Creator. Imagine. And yet, they disobeyed and forfeited Paradise.

    They suffered the consequences, but the Scriptures clearly show God remained active in their lives and in the lives of their children. No matter what we’ve done, we can find forgiveness and restoration through God’s Son, Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

