18 Lessons Learned

I’m working on a list of things I admire about my husband of almost 30 years. With that as a springboard, I thought it would be a great idea to write about a few of the lessons I’ve learned from my family members.

My dad, who passed away almost four years ago, taught me a number of lessons. Two that stand out to me are 1) family is of prime importance and 2) hard work is not optional.

My mom, who has been gone a little over a year, was one of my very best friends. She taught me the importance of putting others before yourself and that faith must be the centre of our lives.

My mother-in-law, who is still with us, taught me what it looks like to be undemanding and appreciative and to always be there when family needs you.

My father-in-law, who passed away in August of 1999, taught me what it looks like to do for others without expecting anything in return and to take life a little less seriously.

My husband has shown me what unconditional love looks like for over three decades. Dave has also shown me a level of selfless commitment and faithfulness I never imagined possible.

My eldest son, Nathanial, was the first to teach me the joys of being a mom and a friend as well as a parent.

After thinking Nathanial might be an only child, my second born taught me how great it is to have two sons.  Joshua also taught me the bittersweet joy of releasing him to make it on his own. (He decided to stay in Saskatchewan after graduating from Nipawin Bible College.)

My daughter was the fulfillment of a lifelong dream of having a daughter. Sarah has taught me you can overcome the temptation to give up something you love because you don’t think you’re good enough and go on to see a dream fulfilled.

How I love my family!

2 thoughts on “18 Lessons Learned

Leave a Reply

