New or Review?

I had four windows open across the bottom of the screen and four across the top. I’m like a little kid. I don’t want to miss anything.

My bookshelves are bulging with volumes I haven’t read, as are my virtual shelves.

I love the things I’m trained to do, but there are so many others that interest me as well . . . not to mention further developing the skills I have, which will take ongoing study and review.

So, which is best – the new or the review?

They both have their place, but I can’t get so distracted by every new thing that comes along that I don’t remind myself of what I already know and build on that.

I am reviewing the guidelines used by Christian Editing Services. Although I really would like to take the time to sit down and re-read The Christian Writer’s Manual of Style from cover to cover, I really don’t have that kind of time right now. However, reviewing the basics is a good refresher. Plus, I have so many good books and magazines about writing, as well as countless blogs I want to explore.

I plan to regularly go over the answers to my doula certification exam. The more I interact with the material, the more readily the knowledge will be available when I’m asked a question. And then there are all the pregnancy and childbirth books on my shelves I haven’t read yet, plus those I want to re-read.

For the time being, my fitness education is confined to my own routine and that’s okay. I do have a book titled Muscle Medicine that would add a great deal to the information I’ve received from my personal trainer. I’m just not sure I’ll be adding that to my already lengthy To Read list – at least not right away.

So, it isn’t just about pursue new interests; it’s about reviewing what I’ve already read and learned as well as increasing my insight and understanding in the areas I am currently pursuing.

This pertains to matters of faith as well. The Bible talks about “every wind of doctrine.” If I’m not firmly rooted in the tenets of my faith, I can easily get confused and follow things that sound good but don’t measure up. Above all else, this must be where I invest my time and energy.

So, what is on the agenda for you these days, the new or the review?

Leave a Reply

