6 Ways to Do What You Don’t Wanna

As I sit here anticipating my workout, I find myself conflicted. I wanna go, but I don’t. Have you ever felt that way about something you needed to do?

Here are six ways to gain victory over the I-don’t-wanna’s:

1. Make a list of all the reasons you should do that thing you’d rather not.

2. Make another list of all the negatives that are likely to occur if you don’t.

3. For those things that don’t already come with a deadline, try setting one. (This helps me a lot.)

4. Grant yourself a reward when the task is done. (However, a big piece of cake after a workout is not an appropriate reward – just in case you’re/I’m wondering.

5. If it’s an ongoing task, choose an accountability partner who will keep tabs on your progress.

6. Developing a grateful outlook will help you reframe those responsibilities that sometimes weigh you down. (For instance, I have much to be thankful for when it comes to exercise: 1) I have a trainer who really knows her stuff; 2) I have the physical ability to workout; and 3) I know I’ll feel much better even after I get there.)

How about you? What motivates you to do those things you’d rather not do?

6 thoughts on “6 Ways to Do What You Don’t Wanna

  1. This is great; I love down to earth stuff. I especially like no 6 – I use gratitude a lot. Also I like to think about how wonderful I will feel when I’ve done whatever it is.

  2. I really found this post helpful today, not for a specific task but for my job. Especially #6, it is good to remind myself that I need to have a grateful outlook, even when I don’t feel like it. The other suggestions are great too, when my mind starts to think of other things, to keep on track! Thanks for a great post!!

  3. I definitely need to start practicing these a bit more, *especially* in terms of my workouts! I’ve been a bit lax lately. 😦

    Also, I wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Award because I enjoy your blog. You can check out today’s post for the details and to accept your award.

Leave a Reply

