Sleep Calling


As I mentioned back in June, I find myself nodding off easily – especially in the afternoon after I come home from the church. Working in an air-conditioned office should not make me sleepy.

So, what could it be?

~ lack of physical activity

~ lack of proper nutrition

~ the warmer temperatures at home (We don’t have central air.)

~ the cold I’m still fighting

That about does it.

And what can I do about it?

I should get up and walk around the building once or twice every hour or so.

I must exercise every day. My goal is to do 15-30 minutes of cardio at least three times per week and do the workout my trainer prepped for me at least five times per week. I really should start getting up early and heading to the gym. Leaving it until the evening is not helpful.

Laziness is probably the number one reason I don’t eat as well as I should. I need to take more time to prep the grocery list and cook. It’s too easy just to do what’s easiest, especially when I’m feeling lethargic. This is an area in which I regularly miss the mark. I really must put together some SMART goals to get me on the right track.

I’m not really sure if the temperature has a lot to do with my lethargy. Our house isn’t all that bad. I love my hair, but I don’t like the added insulation in the summer. Nor do I like the headache I often get when I put it up. While it’s highly unlikely I’ll chop it all off, there are times I’m tempted. I took too long to grow it out.

Unless I cough, there is no real evidence that the cold is still an issue. Perhaps, I should just do what I can and not use it as an excuse. Plus, I could always start taking the Vitamin C tablets I purchased last week.

And one of the key things is to establish a regular routine, going to bed and getting up at the same time every day.

What about you? What do you do when you hit a slump in your energy level?

4 thoughts on “Sleep Calling

  1. I’ve been lacking energy lately myself. And, like you, I feel that my diet and exercise are largely to blame. I haven’t been sticking to a decent sleep schedule, so I’m always dragging in the middle of the afternoon. (And, yeah, the heat isn’t helping, but surely not the main culprit.) And I’ve also not been working out like I should, much less eating even close to properly. Good luck to both of us in getting ourselves back on the right path.

    1. I make sure I get at least six hours of sleep, but I agree with you, Stephanie, seven is much better. I can only do so many six-hour nights before I crash.

      Thanks for stopping by. I hope to “see” you again soon.

Leave a Reply

