Grammar Girl . . .

I receive Grammar Girl’s emails in my inbox. So, when I saw Grammar Girl Presents the Ultimate Writing Guide for Students at a local bookstore, I just had to grab it.

Although I’m not officially a student, it is set up in the easy-to-read, easy-to-understand way I enjoy. Mignon Fogarty (aka Grammar Girl) even gives hints to make memorizing the rules easier.

She also explains to readers why it’s okay to split infinitives. She insists we must be willing “to boldly go where no-one has gone before.” Did you catch the split infinitive there? (She’s a Star Trek fan. How could I not like Grammar Girl?)

The book is divided into five chapters. Following the introduction, “Grammar Schmammer,” readers learn about the following: “Parts of Speech,” “Sentenced for Life,” “Punch Up Your Punctuation,” “Quick and Dirty Tips,” and “Your Write to Write.”

The back matter includes an appendix, “Quick and Dirty Grammar at a Glance,” and a glossary.

Are you bored yet?

Well, you shouldn’t be. It’s a fun read, an easy read, and an “I-bet-your-writing-will-be-better-when-you’re-done” read.

Do you know when to use “connote” and when to use “denote,” when to use “disinterested” and when to use “uninterested,” when to use “supposedly” and when, if you’re American, to use “supposably”? Yes, it is a word. Who knew?

Do you know what the perfect tense is? Do you know what verbals are? Do you know the difference between a weak and a strong possessive pronoun? (Hint: It has nothing to do with steroids.)

I think Grammar Girl Presents the Ultimate Writing Guide for Students is in the running for my favourite grammar book. While Eats, Shoots and Leaves is technically a book about punctuation, it may just slide into second place.

I’m learning a thing or two – more actually, just don’t tell my editing clients. I guess I am a student after all. Are you?

4 thoughts on “Grammar Girl . . .

Leave a Reply

