Steph’s August 12 ROW Check-in

Onward and upward . . .

Relationships

~ picnicked with hubby and some friends on Friday

~ met with a young author and his folks for lunch on Friday

~ had coffee with a friend who had recently returned from England

~ took my daughter and her BFF to the city to buy shoes and have lunch on Saturday

~ still hoping to schedule one or two family dinners per month

Doula-ing

I let a fellow doula know I would be interested in taking on a couple more clients before the end of the year. If she hears of anyone she can’t take on, she will pass along my card. Thank you, Sarah.

Writing

When I have half an hour or so – rather, when I set aside half an hour or so – I’ll brainstorm some ideas to draw upon for my blog.

Research possible e-publishing options for a client and me – pursuing possibilities

Editing

My goal was to complete the first edit of my client’s children’s chapbook by Saturday, August 4. I completed this ahead of schedule. Woo hoo! Now for the final read-through.

Submitting

I honestly have no time at this point. To be revisited at a later time.

Reading

This weekend’s goal is to reread the children’s chapbook manuscript and read a good chunk of the Brent’s manuscript. He is the young author I mentioned earlier. He is so open to any and all suggestions to make it the best book it can be. I love working with authors who have this attitude.

Exercising

I got to the gym for cardio on Friday morning and plan to go from three to five mornings next week.

I didn’t get my workout done as often as I would have liked, but there are only so many hours in the day. The goal is to complete my workout at least three times this coming week.

Additional Fitness Goals

~ eat better

~ weekly weigh-ins with friends (I will get unstuck – someday. My real goal, though I would like to lose 15 pounds, is to get down to 29 percent body fat. From the research I’ve done, that is most acceptable for a woman over 50.)

ROW-specific Goals

~ visit other ROWers’ sites weekly (Pretty much on track.)

 

6 thoughts on “Steph’s August 12 ROW Check-in

  1. Yay for finishing the editing early 🙂 Reading that children’s book manuscript sounds like it would be interesting. Lucky the author is willing to listen to creative input, I’m sure we’ve all had writers who refuse to believe their work is anything but Perfect, and make life hell for anyone who dares to suggest otherwise. Good luck with the rest of your goals 😀

  2. On the brainstorming front, have you tried just carrying a notebook with you? I started taking a notebook and pen with me everywhere I go, because whenever I sat down to think up ideas, I got nothing. Now, I just pull out the notebook whenever something hits me, and I end up writing three or four additional ideas every single time.

    1. Excellent idea, Jeff. I do jot down ideas in various journals. However, I really need to consolidate them into one, so I don’t have to keep asking, “Now, where did I write that down?” I think I’ll pop a small notebook into my purse so I have it with me when I go out. Thanks again.

    1. If I allow myself too much downtime, the hours just slip away. However, the more productive I am, the more I want to do, and therefore, the more I’m able to accomplish. I’ve discovered there is lots of time in the day – as long as I limit my social networking and TV time. Thanks for stopping by, Lauralynn. I hope you have a great week.

Leave a Reply

