Do I Give a Care?

Remember years ago when we said, “I don’t give a care”? I’m not sure if this phrase is still in use, but I thought of it recently.

As women, we are often prone to accuse men of not caring or ignoring what we think and how we feel. But there is another side to this.

I believe men and women think and process things differently. It isn’t a matter of good and bad, right and wrong; it’s just different.

These differences can be contentious or complementary. However, if they are to be complementary, we have our work cut out for us.

1. We must set aside the idea that “my way is better than yours.”

2. We must do our best to see things from the other person’s perspective and remove our judgmental filter.

3. We must listen, really listen, to what someone is saying, not just their words but their heart as well.

4. We must factor in how our actions and decisions will affect others, especially those closest to us.

5. We must recognize that some things we say and do won’t be well received. Instead of becoming defensive, we have to choose if it’s worth pursuing or if it’s best to let it drop.

6. If an issue is truly important, we must not throw up our hands and say, “Oh! What’s the use?” However, we may have to approach it from a new perspective, not easy when we feel like giving up and beelining for the exit.

If the men – and women – with whom I cross paths don’t take the above into account, does it mean I’m off the hook? Not so much. I believe it’s my responsibility to live up to the truth I’ve learned no matter what. (Upon re-reading this, I remembered 2012 is my personal year of no excuses. That cinches it.)

A scripture verse that has been used so much many consider it cliche still applies: We should treat others the way we want to be treated.

These are just a few ideas of how we can “give a care.” What are some ideas that have worked for you or that you’d be willing to try?

Leave a Reply

