The Real Thing

The instruments are the same

The view may even be convincing

The sensation very real

The sense of accomplishment compelling

However

A flight simulator is far from the real thing.

I’m all about relationships

I love to know something I’ve said or done

Has brought a smile

Shone sunshine in a dark corner

However

Too often

I’ve done nothing more

Than hold the door to the simulator

Offering an illusion.

As a Christian

I’ve encountered the One

Who makes real flight possible

I much prefer the beauty and challenge

Of the real thing

The breathtaking view

The knowledge that

His abundant grace

Keeps me from plummeting to the ground.

The simulator might feel safe

But it isn’t real

I must be ready

To spread my wings and fly

Knowing He loves me enough

To sustain me

And should I fall

He will pick me up

Brush me off

And again

Direct me to the skies.

Because I know these things

I must be ready

To encourage others

To get to know

The Source of real flight

To join me

And soar.

The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms.

Deuteronomy 33:27 NIV

Leave a Reply

