Life’s Interconnections

Have you ever taken a few minutes to marvel at how the different parts of our lives are all woven together? Sometimes we have very little to do with it. Sometimes it’s quite intentional. I was having difficulty finding inspiration for my blog posts. (My apologies to all of you who noticed my absence. Thanks for sticking with me.)

Since I committed to write Monday Motivation, I used that lack of inspiration as inspiration to encourage other writers – and myself – to Just Write! (The post will go live on Monday over at CES.)

I’ve belonged to A Round of Words in 80 Days for quite a while – and love it. Some members created the ROW80 Facebook group so we could further encourage one another. We also hang out at the #ROW80 hashtag over on Twitter.

Just an aside . . . Thank you Marcy Kennedy for introducing me to ROW80. Plus, I met Marcy through her co-writer and our mutual friend, Lisa Hall-Wilson. (Interconnections abound.)

Because of our ROW80 check-ins, I realized many writers also have fitness goals. Therefore, I’ve formed the ROW80 Fitness group over on Facebook. I was going to make it a closed group, but when one of my friends asked to join, I changed my mind. If you and/or your friends want to join us for some fitness tips and lots of encouragement, I’d love it.

As you know, I am a labour doula. I hope to post in that category more often. Plus, back in August, I formed Developing Doulas, another FB group. This one I kept closed. If you’re interested in joining, just let me know.

Social networking can be a colossal waste of time and even a platform for lashing out and hurting others. However, it can be a great way to get to know people we wouldn’t otherwise have met and to stay in touch with those we can’t always get together with.

I love how so many people who wouldn’t recognize me if we passed on the street have encouraged me and cheered me on. I’m also incredibly honoured to be able to encourage family, friends, and those I don’t know personally. Too cool!

So, if you’re interested in sharing how the various elements of your life are interconnected, I invite you to leave a comment. If you have an idea that you’d like to expand into a full-length post, touch base with me about writing a guest blog.

That’s another thing I want to get busy with today: writing posts for those who have approached me and following up with those who have expressed interest in guest blogging here.

I hope you have a wonderful weekend. I encourage you to look for the wondrous interconnections in your life while you do.

18 thoughts on “Life’s Interconnections

  1. Cate Russell-Cole

    What a brilliant idea! I have seen a lot of fitness goals on people’s ROW 80 check ins. Going to blog this and send them your way.

      1. Cate Russell-Cole

        Why thank you. I love graphic design. I only write because I have that addiction. Otherwise I would play with graphics and web site design all day. 🙂

      2. Cate Russell-Cole

        I am amazed at how many writers are also artists and vice versa. It’s great. I love working with artists, the energy it totally different and more relaxed.

      3. I currently have the privilege of teaching painting to a small group of kids every Thursday for the next five weeks. (We started last week.) I’m more about expressing yourself on canvas than perfecting technique. We had fun learning it’s okay to create an abstract or a realistic painting. It’s all about personal preference.

      4. Cate Russell-Cole

        Six years old and knew that? Wow. That’s something. At six, my greatest artistic knowledge was the intricacies of colouring between the lines.

      5. Cate Russell-Cole

        I never wanted to be an artist. I wanted to be an astronaut. Still do. *sigh* It’s been Foxtel on pay tv here this week. Heaven…

  2. I love this idea! Thank you for setting up the group. I have come to realize that my physical health directly impacts my energy for writing and my creativity in general. If I am sluggish, tired, achy, unwell, then I can’t give my writing what it needs. On the other side of that, I find that if I’m not writing and being creative regularly, my physical health seems to decline. My physical self and my creative self are inextricably entwined, and if I’m going to work to improve one it means working to improve the other as well.

Leave a Reply

