October 7 ROW Check-In

It’s not too late to join the fun of A Round of Words in 80 Days.

Here is my progress as the first week of Round 4 comes to a close.

ROW Specific Goals

~ check in twice per week (yepper)

~ visit fellow ROWers sites weekly (Saturday – done)

Writing Goals

~ blog five to six times per week (I’m counting on the OctPoWriMo challenge [link below] to ensure that I post every day. I do hope to do more than fulfill my ROW80 and poetry commitments, but that’s definitely something.)

~ fulfill my commitment to write 31 poems in October (Check out the OctPoWriMo challenge.) (had to double up on Friday)

~ guest blog two to four times per month (My apologies to those who have asked me to guest blog. I have a list and hope to get at it soon. If you’re interested in guest posting here, feel free to write up the post and send it to me at stephanienickel@yahoo.com)

Editing Goals

~ keep up with assignments as they come (final read-through of novella – done) (beginning another big assignment this coming week)

Reading Goals

~ read at least one novel (I’m halfway through Deep Cover by Sandra Orchard and have stalled, not because of the story but because of me – and the silly new season of TV shows I enjoy watching.) (I hope I can get this done by the end of the round. We’ll see.)

~ read at least one blog post per day (I may have to put this on hold. I’ll let you know – or this goal will just d-i-s-a-p-p-e-a-r.)

~ skills development reading (see below) (I s’pose I could combine this with the previous goal. Hm, there’s a thought.) (I still like the thought of combining the two previous goals but backing it off to three to five times per week.)

Submitting Goals

~ submit one guest blogger post per week

~ submit to at least one paying market per month (not until the Big Job is done)

And now for my non writing-related goals . . .

Relationship Goals

~ spend quality time with my hubby (coffee date with our daughter this past week)

~ spend quality time with my daughter (same as above)

~ spend quality time with my eldest son at least twice per month (looking forward to eating Thanksgiving dinner all together – minus Son #2 who lives out west – Sunday night)

~ connect with Son #2 at least twice per month (will likely do this through email; FB contact isn’t happening)

~ write to and visit my MIL monthly (I haven’t written to her yet, but Son #2 has, and we took it when we went to see her on Saturday.)

~ connect with my sister weekly (We’re already talking Christmas plans. Craziness, I tell you.) (texted to wish one another Happy Thanksgiving)

Skills Development Goals

~ review notes and read a book re: pregnancy and childbirth during Round 4 (For those of you who don’t know, I’m a labour doula.) (I love that I’ve made this a completely doable goal. I’ll let you know when it is a done deal.)

~ read Grammar Girl’s book this round (It keeps calling me from the shelf.)

Fitness Goals

~ consistently get to the gym at least twice per week after the weather makes it tough to walk outside

~ consistently work out at home, at the gym, or at my trainer’s three times per week (I worked out once with my trainer and once on my own this past week. Plus, I took brief two Photo Walks.)

~ drink more water (I’ve done so – a little.)

~ eat better (Because of my new financial goals [see below], this is going to happen sooner than later. That’s the plan anyway.)

~ regularly connect with fellow ROW80 Fitness peeps over on Facebook (If you have fitness goals and haven’t joined us yet, we’d love to include you.) (I’ve been doing okay with this one.)

Procrastination Goals

~ cross one thing off my procrastination list weekly (Last week’s goal: hunt up and begin to fill a couple of big boxes, one for things I’m going to give away and the other for things I’m going to throw out.) (I bumped the previous goal, but achieved several others. Yay!) 

Financial Goal

~ get further out of debt each month (I read this article about a lady who did a spending fast and I’m inspired to do the same; details to follow.)

You can connect with other ROWers on Twitter at #ROW80 or on the Facebook ROW80 group.

Leave a Reply

