November 7 ROW Check-In

Up at 4:30 this morning after a restless night. I had to stop my workout early yesterday afternoon because I was dizzy and slightly nauseated. This morning, I have a touch of sinus pressure. However, like Papa Bear of the Berenstain Bears, “I never get sick.” Here’s hoping this is the worst of it. I commend all those who deal with chronic physical issues. I would not be good at it, I can tell you.

ROW Specific Goals

~ check in twice per week (check)

~ visit fellow ROWers sites weekly (yepper)

Writing Goals

~ finish a booklet I’m writing for a client; I only have one chapter to go (I didn’t make the early deadline, but I should still be able to get this done by Sunday’s check-in.)

~ blog five to six times per week (It is going to be a challenge, but I can do this.)

~ guest blog two to four times per month (I lied on Saturday when I scheduled my Sunday check-in. I started my guest posts but didn’t get them done. I didn’t mean to fib; really I didn’t.)

~ come up with 30 ideas for picture books (PiBoIdMo) (I’m puttering along in this regard. I have a long list of themes. I just have to take a peek and see what inspires me. It shouldn’t be a problem coming up with 30 ideas by the end of the month.)

Editing Goals

~ complete the new project I just began (I plan to get Chapter 5 edited today and tomorrow and make a significant start on Chapter 6, maybe even get it edited, before my client gets back from holidays on Sunday.)

~ make significant headway on a new project I’ve taken on (I’m still waiting to hear for sure if the client wants to proceed. I edited the prologue just so he knows what to expect. I’ll wait before delving in any deeper.)

Reading Goals

~ read at least two novels (I’m puttering away on Hidden in the Heart by Catherine West. I hope to devote some time to it each day, especially Friday and Sunday.)

~ read at least five blog posts per week (There are so very many good blogs out there.)

~ skills development reading three times per week; down from five but much more achievable (Grammar Girl; pregnancy and childbirth; fitness)

Submitting Goals

~ get the Big Job done 

~ two to four guest posts per month (I want to have eight written before the end of the year. It’s doable but will take some discipline.)

~ two or three submissions to paying markets by the end of the year (I have some picture book manuscripts waiting for submission. This should be an easy goal to accomplish.)

And now for my non writing-related goals . . .

Relationship Goals

~ special time with family each week (Son #2 has a new microphone for his computer and is enjoying recording short messages. He has asked if we can arrange a Skype call. It will be nice to chat with him – in the traditional sense of the word.)

~ visit and write to MIL each month (If I’m up for it, we’ll visit her on Saturday. Then both these goals will be accomplished for November. Yay!)

~ connect with my sister weekly (yepper)

~ email my bro monthly

~ get in touch with nieces and nephews quarterly (Most of them are on FB. I don’t know why this doesn’t happen more often.)

Skills Development Goals

~ review notes re: pregnancy and childbirth

~ begin reading for new certification course: Pregnancy Fitness Educator (It took me the full two years to get my last certification. My goal is to earn this one within the year.) (This would be easier if I didn’t fall asleep in the evenings.)

~ finish reading Grammar Girl’s book (Although I won’t finish it by the end of the round, I intend to review and study the book weekly.)

Fitness Goals

~ consistently get to the gym at least twice per week (new goal – 24 visits before the end of the year)

~ consistently work out at home, at the gym, or at my trainer’s three times per week (I have worked out three times this week so far . . . more like 2.5 x actually.)

~ drink more water (no significant progress yet)

~ eat better (I’m doing a little better and was thrilled to receive my “care package” yesterday. The daughter of friends of ours was selling local produce as a fund raiser for her school. What a great idea, huh?)

~ regularly connect with fellow ROW80 Fitness peeps over on Facebook; come join us (I love to see how the group is starting to move forward even when I’m not commenting. So cool!)

Procrastination Goals

~ cross one thing off my procrastination list weekly (I’m looking forward to Friday, my second Me Day – on which I accomplish things I’ve been putting off.)

You can connect with other ROWers on Twitter at #ROW80 or on the Facebook ROW80 group.

8 thoughts on “November 7 ROW Check-In

  1. A Berenstain Bears reference! I so loved them when I was a kid! (I think I still have those books somewhere in my parents’ attic even! 🙂 )

    You have a ton of goals there and I commend you for that and the progress you are making. Great job! I like the idea of a procrastination list. I am such a procrastinator, I think I might have to make one of those and do something similar to get things done. Such a great idea!

    Last month I started drinking more water, and I had a hard time. But I started putting a slice of lime or lemon (or an orange slice) in my water bottle that I keep it in the fridge. It gives it a bit of taste but it’s not overpowering. (I’ve used lime or lemon juice in a pinch when I haven’t had the fruit around). It’s made drinking more water much easier for me.

    Have a great week!

    1. Thanks so much for stopping by, Kat. I think, if we’re honest, we could all make a Procrastination List. I’m sure we all put something off. And it does feel incredible to cross even one item from said list.

      Have a great week, Kat. I hope you blow all your goals out of the water. 😀

      Come by for a visit anytime.

  2. Ah, thanks. Your drink more water goal made me reach for my liter bottle and consume. Supposedly drinking lots of water helps with the food cravings. I’ll see how well it works. Thanks for sharing your goals and their progress. Sounds like you’re coming right along!

Leave a Reply

