First December ROW Check-In

It’s here, the last month of 2012. How do you plan to spend the next 29 days?

ROW Specific Goals

I’m going to visit my fellow ROWers after each check-in until the round is over. I want to end strong.

Writing Goals

Blog posts and submissions to Chicken Soup . . . Before the next check-in I plan to have three blog posts and one submission for CS up/ready for submission. The best laid plans . . . I did start a submission for CS. This week I hope to devote some serious time to writing.

Editing Goals

My client really likes Chapter 5. My hope is to complete Chapters 6 and 7 this week. Big dreams, but that’s a good thing. I got Chapters 6 and 7 “done.” However, my client wants to “knock it out of the park” with Chapter 7, so we’re going to do quite a bit more work on it. Apparently, I didn’t forward Chapter 6, though I did get it done. I’ll have to wait and see what he thinks of that one.

I am helping a second client format the proposal for her picture book. The book is both original and important. What a privilege to be part of the process! She is really pleased with the help I’ve given. Hopefully, the agent she’s approaching feels the same way.

Weather permitting, I’ll be meeting with a potential client on Saturday. Yay! Meeting a new client. Yay again! Eating at Pickel Barrel. We really hit it off. I think this will be a go in the New Year. This too is an important subject and she has firsthand knowledge. Though she is writing a novel, she will be able to bring real authenticity to it. I’m looking forward to working on this project with her.

Reading Goals

Simply put, my goals are as follows: Read the Bible daily and devote at least three hours per week to reading books, both fiction and non-fiction.

Submitting Goals

I will submit at least two pieces to paying markets (probably upcoming Chicken Soup editions) and four guest posts by the end of the year. The week ahead doesn’t look quite so crazy. I just might make this a priority.

Come connect with the Submission Blitz group over on Facebook.

And now for my non writing-related goals . . .

Relationship Goals

Great weekend . . .

~ met with a new client and her hubby

~ enjoyed our church Christmas dinner today as well as the Sunday School program

~ watched our traditional Christmas movie (The Muppets Christmas Carol) with my hubby and our daughter

~ also watched Once Upon a Time together

Skills Development Goals

This will come with several new responsibilities on the horizon.

Fitness Goals

Great incentive . . . I will be leading a weekly class as of January 8. I have to develop the workout and practice, practice, practice.

If you want to talk fitness, join us at ROW80 Fitness.

Procrastination Goals

Keeping the main floor presentable will take daily upkeep. Puttering helps, though we’ll never be an everything-has-its-place family.

On the upside . . . The landing on the second floor now is home to Christmas Tree #2 instead of a vacuum, an ironing board, a defective blender (don’t ask), etc., etc.

You can connect with other ROWers on Twitter at #ROW80 or on the Facebook ROW80 group

Hope you have a great week.

Leave a Reply

