Sheltered by R. Appel

I’ve been cleaning up my inbox and came across this guest post written by my friend, Rita Appel. She wrote it as part of her “Who Am I in Christ” series. Thank you for again sharing your heart with us, my friend.

I long to dwell in your tent forever

and take refuge in the shelter of your wings.

                                      Psalm 61.4 NIV

Have you ever watched a hen with her chicks? Whenever danger looms, she calls to them, bidding them to come to her. As they come close to her, she opens her wings, enfolds her young keeping them sheltered. There the chicks cuddle together safely until the peril passes.

This is an image of our relationship with our Heavenly Father. Whenever the storms of life loom in the distance, He calls to us, bidding us to enter into His Presence, into the circle of His protecting arms, His wings. There He will hold us close until the tempest passes. He does not take us to a place of safety away from the storm, but rather, shelters us in the midst of it. Just as the chicks trust the hen to protect them, so we must trust our Abba Father.

Are you facing a storm today? Abba Father is calling you. “Come to Me and I will shelter you. Trust Me my child. I will keep you safe in the tempest. Come close to Me, into My encircling arms.

Will you allow your Heavenly Father to shelter you today?

Father, the storm is raging about me and I am so afraid. Please calm my fears as you shelter me, O Lord. Help me to know your peace as I rest quietly, secure under your wings. This I ask in the name of Jesus. Amen.

8 thoughts on “Sheltered by R. Appel

  1. Even to the point of death. We’ve most likely all heard the story of the hen who gathered her chicks under her wings as a forest fire went by. The fireman kicked over the charred body of the mother not knowing what it was. Out scampered the chicks. And so did Jesus die for us. He protects and He provides salvation. Praise the Lord!

  2. What a wonderful Christmas gift Steph! i just got home today from holidays and found your post in my mailbox. Thank you everyone for the beautiful, encouraging words. Happy New Year all! -Rita

Leave a Reply

