January 23 ROW Check-In

Seriously? Time for another check-in already?

Freelance Goals

~ complete co-writing manuscript with Client 1 (possibly by the end of Round 1) (We’re going to leave Chapter 8 to simmer for a bit and move onto Chapter 9. We’ll be chatting on the phone tonight.)

~ work with Client #2 to bring her novel from idea to submittable manuscript (This will likely take the whole year.) (to begin in February)

Writing Goals (this round)

~ blog/post six times per week including ROW check-ins (The plan is to post a book review as well as this check-in today. I’m also thinking it’s time for another Confessions of a Horrible Housekeeper post. If you saw my house, you’d understand why. Hm, there’s an idea. While some people post their magazine-worthy pics, I can post my where’s-a-shovel-when-you-need-one pics.)

~ blogging to include at least one book review per month (Review #1 – Coming to a Blog Near You)

~ weekly blog posts for Monday Motivation (I’ve been writing these mid-week. That’s so much better than getting a reminder on Sunday. [grin])

~ write at least one paper for my certification course (I’ve chosen my topics. I should really get at it. I’d love to have the course requirements done in no more than 18 months.)

~ write two guest posts per month (I have three prospects on the horizon. Time to brainstorm some themes. Now, if I could only get inspiration and time concurrently.)

~ polish a picture book manuscript every other month (How about this week?)

~ write a short piece for a paying market each month (There are eleven days – make that nine days – left in January. I can do this.)

Submission Goals (ongoing)

~ guest posts (There is still time to submit two pieces this month, but I best get at it.) (Hm, I’ve read that before somewhere.)

~ picture book manuscript(s) (Last week I said, “This week!” Maybe this week? It’s still on the Action Plan for this week.)

~ short piece(s) (Two this week or one this week and one next . . . we’ll see. Can I make Friday, my “day off,” a writing day? Looks like I really should.)

~ read one to two books per month (I’m reading Shah Wharton’s Finding Esta and Kevin Albright’s Finding My Father. Twenty-thirteen Book Review #1 coming soon; hopefully, today.)

ROW-Specific Goals

~ visit many of you at least once per week (Looks like it’ll be Thursday this week.)

~ pop by regularly to the ROW FB pages (must do this more)

Fitness Goals

~ practice routine for the class I’ll be leading (The first class went well. I just have to pick some better music. I called the class Fit, Fun, and Fabulous. I really want it to be fun. Maybe I should have gone with my hubby’s suggestion: “Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego?”) 

~ do more cardio (When the weather warms up, I may have to start walking outside. Who knows? Maybe I’ll take my camera and the walk can serve a dual purpose.)

~ visit the gym two to three times a week <averting eyes and trying to come up with legit excuses>

~ visit my trainer once per week until I’m done my sessions (This week . . . it’s gotta happen this week.)

~ eat better (not too bad)

~ drink more water (The cold weather is not conducive to drinking water.)

~ eat dessert only on the weekend, if at all (Not exactly . . . but I am doing better.)

If you’d like to chat between check-ins, pop by the Facebook group. And if fitness goals made the list for 2013, we’d love to have you over at the ROW80 Fitness group.

7 thoughts on “January 23 ROW Check-In

  1. You have a lot of sticks in the basket there… or is that eggs in the fire, or…

    Really though, I’m impressed. I do have a suggestion for your Fitness goal. Hot herbal tea…. It counts as water for hydration purposes, and it comes in some amazing flavors. Check out either Celestial Seasonings herbals for some citrusy flavors. Yogi brand teas have some other interesting flavors such as Sweet Chili and Cocoa Spice… Divine. You may find you don’t miss desert at all.

  2. Cate Russell-Cole

    Hi Steph, sounds like you have a lot of interesting ideas there. I hope time opens up for all of them, and if it doesn’t, don’t feel bad about having to adjust. Life is like that!

    Just keep going.

      1. Cate Russell-Cole

        I am waiting for “Shiny Squirrel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” LOL Thanks for making me smile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

