Finding Esta

Finding Esta CoverCreepy. Intriguing. Compelling.

Finding Esta by Shah Wharton is definitely not my typical genre of choice, but my regular readers know, for me, it’s all about the characters.

Do Wharton’s characters come alive? Are they three-dimensional? Do I care what happens to them?

I most definitely care about the inhabitants of Finding Esta. They are, without a doubt, multifaceted.

And do they come alive? The answer is yes – even the characters who aren’t alive. (Oops . . . should I have prefaced that with “spoiler alert”?)

From abusive parents I want to throttle to otherworldly characters who offer companionship to the protagonist – (spoiler alert) except when they can’t – there are many who engage my emotions. I can grow attached or grow angry. Either is okay and Finding Esta makes both happen.

How could they?

Who are they really?

What will happen to them?

See? It’s about characters. Yes, I do want to know what will happen, but not for the sake of the action. I want to know if my favourites will find peace. This is classified as urban fantasy, so that may not happen. I also want to know if “the bad guys” will get what’s coming to them. Again, with fantasy, you just never know.

Would I recommend Finding Esta? I would. In fact, though I rarely give stars, I would give this book four out of five.

That said, in the interest of full disclosure, I must tell you I had to set it aside for now. One scene – and one scene only – was too graphic for me. I’m a visual learner and the picture Wharton created in my mind was just a little too much. I’m fairly certain, at some point in the not too distant future, I will pick it up again to see if the protagonist is successful in Finding Esta.

One thought on “Finding Esta

  1. Thanks so much Steph… I can honestly say you’ll find some sense of closure in the rest of the novel and I like to read dark and bloody, but I think too much in any novel is overkill 😀 There will be vengeance though, and that is rarely bloodless in an urban fantasy novel with vampires, aliens, weres and seriously conflicted protagonists! 😉 XX

Leave a Reply

