Guest Author Kimberley Payne

Kimberley PayneKimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. She has volunteered as a teacher in many children’s programs at her church, as a teacher’s aide for students’ reading in the classroom, and within the library at her children’s school. She works as an Elementary School Secretary for the Catholic School Board. She combines her teaching experience and her love of writing to create educational materials for children about family, fitness, science, and faith.

It’s great to have you here today, Kimberley. Congratulations on your new book, Trees of the Book-Learning from God’s Creation.

So, tell us a little about yourself.

I am a wife and a mother of two teenagers, two cats, and lots of fish. I love to walk and hike in the great outdoors, and consider myself an amateur photographer who loves to take tons of pictures of nature.

Why did you write Trees of the Book?

I find the stories in the Bible fascinating and wanted to explore some of them from a different perspective.

Who is this book written for?

Trees of the Book was written for children ages 7 to 9. It can also be used as a supplemental book to the Growth and Changes in Plants Curriculum for Canadian teachers in grades 2/3.

What was the inspiration (motivation) behind the book?

As an avid walker, I have a love and appreciation for nature. I also like to read the Bible and found myself curious about the trees mentioned in the Scriptures. At the time, I started my research I was actively involved in children’s ministry in my church so wanted to share what I learned in an entertaining format for the children. I produced one-sheets to fit into the weekly bulletins and featured one tree a week for seven weeks. I collected these together and added facts about each tree with fun activities. And voila . . . I had the beginnings of this book.

What do you hope this book accomplishes?

I hope the readers gain a new appreciation for trees while learning a little more about stories in the Bible. And I hope they have fun too.

Is this book a stand alone or part of a series?

A series called Science and Faith Matters. Other books in the series will be about the Life Sciences, including animals of the Bible and the five senses.

Tell us about your illustrator?

Esther Haug, a 21-year-old woman from my church who plans to attend Fleming College of the Arts in Haliburton.

And from the back cover . . .Trees of the book

Inside the pages of Trees of the Book, you’ll find:

  • Bible stories told from the viewpoint of the tree
  • Fast facts to help identify the specific tree
  • An activity to help reinforce the truth in the lesson
  • Challenging questions to support each story
  • Glossary and “People of the Bible” sections at the back of the book define words which are highlighted in bold
  • Project suggestions to enhance your learning

Read more at www.kimberleypayne.com

You can read my review of Kim’s book here.

6 thoughts on “Guest Author Kimberley Payne

  1. Hi Steph,
    I’m so glad to see Kimberley over here on your blog.
    Kimberley, it was interesting to read where your inspiration came from. It reminds me to take time and notice life around me.
    I plan on ordering your book and the cover art is beautiful. 🙂
    Thanks again, Steph, for your wonderful post on my blog yesterday and for responding to my wonderful followers.
    Tracy

Leave a Reply

