I Can’t Not Write

I wonder who first said, “I write because I can’t not write.”

Until today, I have never realized the incredible weightiness of that statement.

Of all the things I do/would like to do, I have felt most closely connected with writing. I’ll admit I have planned far more writing projects than I have actually completed – or even begun.

I have a feeling that’s about to change.

When I read books about writing . . . when I attend my monthly writers’ group . . . when I go to the annual Write! Canada conference . . . when I connect with my fellow ROWers . . . of course I get jazzed about writing.

But it’s more than that!

For the first time ever, I feel writing is more than something I want to do or can do. It’s something I must do.

And that is very weighty.

So, this summer, I will read. (The list is extensive.)

. . . and I will write.

What exactly?

I’m not 100 percent certain.

But I will write . . . because I MUST!

12 thoughts on “I Can’t Not Write

  1. Pirkko Rytkonen

    Yes, I do write something almost everyday, but my novel seems to be on the back burner for now. I must get to it! Thanks for reminding.

  2. You’ve been infected with the writing bug, the most glorious, freeing, humbling, frustrating, gratifying feeling in the world. Welcome. I look forward to following you on your journey. πŸ™‚

  3. Writing is the thread that weaves together the whole of my living. Always has been.

    So happy to share that with you!

    And I just noticed that you have a whole category on horrible housekeeping. Once I finish with NaNo, I think I will be doing some reading, too! =)

  4. Pingback: Reach Exceeds Grasp: ROW80 Update, July 21, 2013 | shanjeniah

Leave a Reply

