The Watcher

The Watcher CoverMust read faster. Must read faster.

Have you ever read a book that you wanted to read more quickly so you could get to the climax that you weren’t really sure you wanted to arrive at?

I hope I haven’t confused you too badly, but Sara Davison’s The Watcher is the first book I remember feeling this way about. There was a confrontation that had to happen before the story would be complete, but I wasn’t sure what the cost would be.

I’ve had this book on my shelf for a little over a year, waiting patiently for my attention. Because one of the ladies in my writers’ group asked to borrow it, I decided to power through so I could take it to her tomorrow . . . and I’m glad I did.

As the reader, I’ve made some new friends, experienced a wide gamut of emotions, and found out just how far Grace and Forgiveness can take someone – all thanks to The Watcher.

Contemporary fiction? Suspense? Fantasy? There are elements of each of these – and I loved them all.

The author has skillfully crafted a story that does not fit neatly into a single category. She has also, with great effectiveness, broken some of “the rules.”

Repeatedly the reader is traveling back and forth through time and space. It did take me take me a minute or two – maybe slightly longer – to get into the rhythm of things, but after I did, I could cruise along. Buckle up. You are in for a ride.

The narrator, though not omniscient, is aware of its charges’ thoughts and sometimes shares them with the reader. (Its? You’ll have to read the book to discover why I didn’t choose his or her.)

Faith. Hope. Grace. We meet them all in The Watcher.

But we also meet Fear, Pain, and Wariness.

Come meet these characters and find out what happened That Night.

Find out if the traumatized Kathryn Ellison and the elusive narrator will survive. Find out if they’ll become fast friends or go their separate ways.

Pick up your copy at Amazon.

5 thoughts on “The Watcher

  1. Pirkko Rytkonen

    This was one book that I could not put down. I had to keep reading to find out what happens. I read it in two days. It was very different, but so intriguing….suspense for sure! I loved it.

  2. Hi Steph – Just stumbled across this post as I was surfing the net (not because I Googled myself or anything, it was just… random) and had to tell you how much I appreciated your thoughts on The Watcher (and your willingness to share them!). So glad you enjoyed it! Sara

    1. I’m glad you stumbled across the review. (Pst…it’s fun to Google oneself every now and then. :D)

      I look forward to reading your next novel, Sara.

      Have a wonderful week and thanks so much for stopping by.

  3. Pingback: Interview with Sara Davison (Part 1) | Steph Nickel's Eclectic Interests

Leave a Reply

