July 17 ROW Check-In

Air is heavy

Close and thick

Skin’s all clammy

Clothing sticks

A/C calling from my room

Sh, be quiet

Be there soon

Now I’m writing

Can’t you tell

Who can stop

When all goes well

Focus sharpens

Story grows

Learning more

As on I go

Sending sample

To some peeps

Now that’s done

Perhaps I’ll sleep

(or not)

First draft journal

Almost filled

Novel growing

Heart be still

Write then edit

Read a while

Visit ROWers

Share a smile

Three new clients

Critique book

Send some writing

Have her look

She will tell me

What she thinks

Is it good

Or does it stink

(I sure hope not.)

That’s my check-in

Now it’s done

Books are calling

Gotta run

6 thoughts on “July 17 ROW Check-In

  1. A lovely poem that delightfully brings us ROW80 folk up-to-date on your progress. I liked the succinct rhythm and the images that emerge — writerly progress against a sticky, hot summer day. Very nice.

  2. This is so much fun! I love it! So descriptive and really gets the feel of a busy writer’s life.

    Also, I’d love to know more about “first draft journal.” Is it a journal of story ideas? Or is it where you do your actual first draft work? I love to hear about writers’ journals! 🙂

    1. Gee, shucks! Thanks for the encouragement. I love writing check-in poems. They’re fun!

      About my journal . . . Christmas 2006 was the last year my dad had an actual say in the gifts my sister picked up on his behalf (dementia and all). Among those gifts was a leather-bound journal.

      I took it to my writers’ group and said, “Someone, please write something.” I had no idea what to put in this particular journal. It was so pristine.

      No-one wrote in it that night, but eventually, I put pen to paper and began writing a novel. The journal is half-filled with part of a first draft that needs A LOT of work.

      At some point, I hope it sees the light of day. I need to apply what I’ve learned since then, but I still like the story.

      And my other journals . . . They are as all-over-the-board as their eclectically-interested owner.

      Thanks again for stopping by.

      Oh, you mean you wanted the short answer? 😉

Leave a Reply

