Uber Quick ROW Check-In

ROW Logo

What’s up with me . . .

I’m filling in while our church administrator is on mat leave. It’s very quiet in the office during the summer and I’m able to get some other work done while I’m here.

I have six blog posts to write for other sites this week. I completed two yesterday and hope to do the same today and tomorrow. Now to keep an eye out for inspiration for this site. (grin) (sigh)

I’ve begun a substantive edit on a 75,000+ word novel. I hope to finish the first read-through – complete with a list of suggestions – early next week.

I’ve been helping a young author write a snappier story. The premise is great, but I want to help him make it the best it can be. He is publishing it online as a serial. I “massacred” the third instalment and held my breath. I know how hard it is when someone bleeds all over our hard work. Last night he asked how much I’d charge to rework his first two instalments for a second time – because he really liked what I had done with the third. Whew! That’s a relief.

With my reading for work (what a great job), I’ve really slowed down on my pleasure reading, but that’s OK.ย Deadly Devotionย will wait for me.

I’m gonna do it. I’m gonna do it.

This is my challenge to myself . . . Eat well six out of seven days. Walk or other cardio three to five times per week. Do resistance training three times per week. If I do this for a month, I know my body will be well on its way to finding my personal happy place. I’ll let you know on Labour Day weekend how it went. There you have it, a date.

I’ve also declared a submission goal to my fellow picture book writers. I’m going to resubmit a rejected manuscript plus write and submit a second to a couple of literary agents or publishers before the end of the summer. Now I’ve declared it to a wider audience. I’m even more committed.

OK, so that wasn’t exactly uber quick, but I tried. Happy ROWing, all.

And one last thing . . .

One of my clients, not wanting her family to read the surprise, asked me to look over the story of how she and her husband met, not as an editor, just as someone to share it with. Is that cool or what?

10 thoughts on “Uber Quick ROW Check-In

  1. Wow, you have a lot going on. I’m writing several guest posts myself, and I find it draining in a completely different way than my own blog is. I worry more about sounding interesting and informed. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Wishing you luck with those and the edit. Oh, and yes, I think it’s cool that someone asked to share a story with you. Life really is all about our stories, isn’t it?

    1. There’s just something about guest blogging . . . I love it, but you’re right, Tia. You want your host’s readers to be glad you were invited to share your thoughts. ๐Ÿ™‚

      After a holiday-esque day with my hubby, I have to get back at it.

      Have a wonderful weekend and thanks for stopping by.

    1. I am always thrilled when someone approaches me to guest blog. I have done it on a fairly regular basis. I write a weekly post for the editing service I work for (though technically, I am freelance and do take on private clients). I also write a monthly post for a fellow blogger and fitness enthusiast.

      I agree . . . There is so much we can learn from editing someone else’s work. In fact, whenever I read skills development books, I feel I become a better editor and a better writer.

      Thanks for stopping by. Hope you have a great week.

  2. I just read Edit Proof Your Writing by Don McNair and I’ve applied it to Finding Esta before print (just finishing up) and it’s so much tighter and clearer. I have learned so much. But working with CP’s is also a massive learning curve, esp. as I’m British and I use US writers to partner up with. Some things I say they’ve no idea of their meaning. It’s good to find what needs more clarification.

    Well done on all your accomplishments. It must be great to help really make a difference to a writers story for/with them. If they’re anyting like me, they’ll be glad of your red pen. ๐Ÿ˜€ X

    Shah X

    http://bit.ly/18JuBJp

    1. McNair’s work is probably my favourite skills development book.

      As long as it’s fairly obvious from the context what the writer is referring to, I think we should be willing to stretch ourselves as readers.

      As writers, it’s more complex. We have to determine just how much stretching our audience is willing to do. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for popping by. Have a wonderful week.

Leave a Reply

