ROWing My OctPoWriMo

ROW Logo

Today is Check-In 1 of A Round of Words in 80 Days and Day 9 of OctPoWriMo. Here goes . . .

Check-in One

It’s time again

To share just what I’ve done

The round so fresh

And all brand new

Will keep me on the run

To write and edit

Read and clean

And get myself in shape

To visit fellow ROWers’ blogs

And poets’ will be great

I’ve done a little since the start

Including polishing

A manuscript that’s due out soon

Mind blown; it’s quite a thing

When a subject grips your heart

Your eyes are opened wide

You get to tell another’s tale

Walk along beside

And then there’s history to tell

Some made up, some true

To help them tell their stories well

I like to do that too

A book of poems

A book of faith

A privilege to share

My insights with the authors two

Tweak their work with care

And just a note about my house

I’m not the Type A sort

But still I see some progress here

My plans I won’t abort

I’ll do a little every day

Before the round is done

Floors won’t crunch and counters clear

My, won’t that be fun

I’ve plans as well to get in shape

I mentioned this before

Today I list what I will do

Three times a week or more

Some progress made in three short days

And more ahead of me

I’ll make the most of every day

Be all that I can be

So, happy ROWing

Writing friends

And happy poem creation

Let’s forge ahead

Toward our goals

Without the hesitation

11 thoughts on “ROWing My OctPoWriMo

  1. Oh, myyyyy, that was fun! I love the Suessian cadence. Having been a kid and a toddler/preschool teacher, as well as living with children, it got me right in the beloved familiarity!

    I did OctPoWriMo last year – one of my goals for this round is to revise those poems and get them ready to -eek!- self-publish.

    I read three of them – one for each of my children – at the Northeast Unschooling Conference talent show in August. Granted, unschoolers don’t boo anyone off the stage, as a rule, but I got a warm reception, and one very nice, extensive compliment!

    I had “one too many” things on my October plate to play this year, but I will be arranging things a little better for next year, because it truly was an exhilarating experience!

    And I can so relate to the bit about crunchy floors and clear counters…unschooling is an amazing way of life for us, with so many rewards…a sparkling clean house and yard, though, aren’t really among them. It is getting a little better as the kids get older and we can negotiate things, and I am making consistent progress….but I think the crunchy floors will be with us a while longer, if intermittently.

    So happy to see what you’ve been up to!

    1. We home schooled/unschooled as well . . . fourteen years in total. So cool to learn we have this in common – as well as crunchy floors. πŸ™‚

      All the best, Shan, and thanks for stopping by and taking time to comment.

Leave a Reply

