The Journey Continues

OctPoWriMo

Day 10 of OctPoWriMo . . .

Today’s prompt encourages us to gain inspiration from another poem. I decided to use my first blog post from June 2010. Here it is . . .

Free to soar…

Untethered.

Riding the currents high above the ground

Like a magnificent hot air balloon

Or an eagle gliding effortlessly.

While I soar…

Do I unwittingly send others plummeting to the ground?

Do I entangle them in ropes that hinder their flight?

Or do I simply leave them where they are?

Grounded.

As this adventure takes to the sky,

May we all fly a little higher

And help others do the same.

…they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint (Isaiah 40:31, ESV).

And the journey continues . . .

I continue to soar.

My wings are stronger

And yet . . .

I seek to carry more.

Will those things I clutch weigh me down?

Will the things I cling to really help others

Or should I let something go . . .

Perhaps many somethings?

I am to ride the currents

Strong and majestic

Like an eagle

Not bulky and lumbering

Like a transport aircraft.

So today

I will rise

To new heights

Set an example

And hope beyond hope

Honour the God who calls me to soar.

11 thoughts on “The Journey Continues

  1. This is exactly the kind of prompt and reply i wished and hoped i would read. Thank you so much for gifting this post for my prompt. I loved it ..

    The second poem is so much wonderful and deep to think about.

Leave a Reply

