Do I?

Do I rejoice in my faith

or

mourn for those without it?

Do I find satisfaction in my accomplishments

or

question if I’ve wasted far too much time on what isn’t truly important?

Do I allow others to perceive me as extroverted and positive

or

admit sometimes I want to run far, far away?

Do I pretend everything’s OK

or

dump on those whose problems are more overwhelming than my own?

Do I let others believe I’ve got my act together

or

admit my questions and shortcomings?

Do I consider opposing points of view

or

withdraw to a dark corner of my mind, hoping no-one will notice me?

Do I seek to explain what I’m grappling with

or

give in to the what’s-the-use mentality?

Do I focus on myself

or

reach out to others?

Though I find my positive attitude often returns when I spend more time focusing on others, I know they feel much more at liberty to share their doubts and struggles if I admit my own.

Life is a journey – and I’m still pressing on, sometimes full speed ahead, sometimes plodding along as if wearing cement shoes and dragging a semi. 

How about you? Where’s your focus today?

2 thoughts on “Do I?

Leave a Reply

