Heavenly Treasure

Spider Web

It took me only a second to decide to share this guest post by my dear friend Ramona Furst.

This same theme has been weighing on my heart recently.

There is something in the air. Spring must be coming. I have woken up this morning thinking about the cottage, even searching for my  canoe and kayak gear even though I won’t be able to use any of it for another two months. Daydreaming  about one particular morning last summer when I woke up to fog.

The meteorologist on the radio had promised a sunny, hot day with a light northeast wind.  Perfect weather for a paddle. I collected my life jacket, hat, and a snack and made my way down a trail, towards a small bay where I kept the kayak. Once I was on the beach, I looked around and thought, “I’m so glad I brought the camera!”
I took in the green blades of tall oat grass that grew from the shoreline towards the forest. They shimmered and sparkled.  Then I noticed that each long, green, and streamlined blade of grass was connected to  another by intricately woven spiders’ webs. A slight breeze moved the droplets of moisture on the webs. “It looks like,” I thought, “each web is made up of a single strand of tiny, blue gray pearls.”
It was as if I had come across a hidden treasure. I took two photographs to capture the moment, and then stowed  the camera in the kayak before I began to paddle out of the bay. I turned around to take one last look at my newly discovered treasure. All I could now see was a blur of green and the cloudless blue sky.
During the trip I thought about my human inclination for earthly possessions or treasures versus my  spiritual desire to set my eyes on things that are “above, not on things that are on earth” (Colossians 3: 1,2).
Once I was home, I thought about the unexpected hidden treasure I had seen. I looked for them again when I pulled the kayak out of the water. They were gone.
“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rustdestroy and where thieves break in and steal,but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal.For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also” (Matthew 6:19-21).
Back to earth and not wanting to daydream my day away, I think I’ll read His Word and pan for heavenly treasure.
Scripture quotes are from the English Standard Version.

5 thoughts on “Heavenly Treasure

  1. Ramona

    Thanking God for the one kind of earthly treasures He loves us to all have. Friendships that will last for eternity. You all make my life so much richer for having you in my life. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

