Swipe

Swipe CoverSwipe by Evan Angler is a new take on a familiar subject.

What is the real cost to the individual and to society when those who govern demand conformity and imposed unity?

What if the powers that be say that people have a choice, but that choice is to go along with the system or be exiled with no means to legally care for yourself and those you love?

What if those who “fail the test” – marketed as a celebrated right of passage – disappear, reported as the unfortunate minority?

What if children are forced to resort to violence and kidnapping?

And what if one boy and his friend find themselves in the middle of it all?

Can the kidnappers’ next target and the daughter of an important government official really make a difference?

Well, if they had access to high tech gadgets and an ever-increasing amount of boldness and determination . . . just maybe.

I originally purchased Swipe to read for the Book Club for Two I started with a young friend. I have to admit I wondered if it would be like so many other books with a similar theme.

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.

Once I formed connections with the characters, I was eager to see how things played out.

Though Angler wrapped up the story well, it didn’t surprise me to discover Swipe is just the first book in the series. When I shared this with another friend who read and very much enjoyed the book, she said it explained a lot.

While my To Be Read list is extensive, I will likely read the other books in the series. I really do want to find out what happens to my new fictional friends.

This book was written for a YA audience, but I would recommend it to tweens, teens, and adults alike.

What is the last YA novel you read? What did you think of it?

One thought on “Swipe

  1. Sounds like a fun read, Stephanie. My tablet is already groaning with ebooks… As it happens, I just finished a YA book for review: One Realm Beyond, by Donita K. Paul. It, too is the first in a new series, and like you with Swipe, I’d like to continue reading.

    Love the idea of a book club for 2!

Leave a Reply

