Yes or No?

Question Mark (purple)As a teen I believed there were countless things I could do if I so chose.

However, as we all know, life presents countless variables: circumstances beyond our control and lack of motivation and clear direction.

Some days I think it would be easier to be employed outside my home, with a clear To Do list before me.

When one freelances, it is often a feast or famine scenario. Because of my eclectic interests, sometimes I am uncertain what to pursue in the “times of famine.”

Do I find full-time (even part-time) employment outside the house?

Do I hunker down, choose one business option, promote, and push through? Writer? Editor? Doula? Trainer? (See what I mean about eclectic interests?)

Do I compile a promo package, revamp my website, and get myself “out there”?

Today’s Clear Yesses

– enjoy time with my daughter

– power through with some more market research for works already written (Plus, while doing so, I’m always inspired by new ideas.)

– check out possible job ops for my hubby (As I’ve mentioned, he would like to find a job that is less physically demanding. Hard as it is to admit, he’s not getting any younger. Like any of us are.)

– plan the next two days (I’ll have the car and have some errands to run and some people to see.)

– get some things ready to be mailed

– finish February’s Thankfulness List (I’m shooting for 100 recorded things to be thankful for each month this year.)

– read 10 percent of Marcia Laycock’s One Smooth Stone

– maybe start reading a new novel (Until the writers’ conference in June, I’m reading books written by authors I will likely see there.)

– write and post a book review (I’ve really fallen behind in this area.)

– decide whether I need new resources from Vistaprint and perhaps, order them

– visit some fellow writers on the blog hop I’m participating in

– cross two things off my Facebook Follow-Up list (I make note of links I want to read but too often don’t get around to doing so.)

– finish my lower body workout (I got in a decent upper body workout yesterday.)

– celebrate the fact that I took the dog for a longish walk (It will be so much easier once the ice is gone. Snow is fine. Ice, on the other hand . . .)

– enjoy time out with my hubby and daughter (Here in Canada it’s Roll Up the Rim at Tim Hortons. I’m not hopeful about winning a car or the 5,000-dollar Visa card, but it’s nice to spend time with two of my favourite peeps.)

10 thoughts on “Yes or No?

  1. Seems like you have some major things to think over. I usually save those things up. Then, when I think I have enough, I’ll sit in quiet and drink a beverage that makes me happy (coffee, tea, or something else yummy). And with a note book next to me, I’ll just think. The notebook is for anything I might decide or need to jot down to work out.

    Sometimes my thinking stalls me completely. I applaud you for finding things to go forward with in this time of uncertainty. I wish you the best finding the answers that make you happy. 😀

    1. Thanks so much, Gloria. I do love working through my thoughts on paper (or the keyboard). I’ve often said journaling is all about “rambling until I stumble upon the truth.” Have a great week and come by for a visit anytime.

  2. You really do have eclectic interests, which I think is great. It must keep your life very lively and exciting. I worry that I focus too much on writing sometimes and that I need to get out and do more. I’ve been invited to join a fencing club (like I know anything about swordplay besides which direction the pointy end should be facing!), and it sounds like a fun and tempting challenge.

    I loved your list! Being self-employed can be a crazy journey (I just embarked on this journey a couple months ago.), but there’s also a freedom that comes with that journey. I hope you find the best path forward for you–and most of all, I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

    1. Thanks so much, Denise…for popping by and for taking the time to comment. I would love to hear more about your adventure in fencing. And just think what fodder it could provide for your writing! I’d also love to learn more about your business pursuits.

  3. good list, I have a similar problem – what shall I do? (whenever have a spare day) nuisance sometimes but on other hand not a bad postion to be in – many interests keeps the brain lively
    all the best with those lists 🙂

    1. I’m reminded that what I choose to do should fall into the overarching theme of my life. If something interesting comes up that doesn’t, I should seriously consider setting it aside. Thanks so much for popping by.

Leave a Reply

