Wishing for a Work in Progress

Woman Typing

As with many authors, there are several ideas bopping around my head. For one reason and another, that’s pretty much where they’re staying for the time being.

That said, I’m going to give you a sneak peek into several of the books I would like to write.

Sharing with readers about our works in progress is the topic of this week’s Blog Hop for Writers post. (See the link at the end of this post.)

CHILDREN’S PICTURE BOOKS

When one’s interests include fitness, photography, pregnancy and childbirth, and writing – to name a few – the possibilities for picture books is almost endless.

I have a number of manuscripts that I want to get out to publishers and agents and several other ideas waiting to be developed.

A SERIES FOR ’TWEENS

I have been sitting on an idea for a series of mystery stories that would correspond with the Canadian curriculum being taught to 10-12-year-olds. When you get the thumbs up from a key player in the industry, you’d think that would be enough motivation. You’d think.

A CONTEMPORARY CHRISTIAN FICTION NOVEL

I have a rough outline for the plot of my novel. I like the characters and the premise. But do I like them enough to spend the amount of time I need to with them to develop the idea into a full-fledged story? (Hmm, as I was writing that, I realized I might aim to make it a short story or a novella. Now that might be doable. I’ll have to get back to you on that one.)

BLOG POSTS, BLOG POSTS, AND MORE BLOG POSTS

This is the one area I’m pretty much on target with – pretty much.

I guest blog for a few sites and post here regularly.

RESEARCH ASSIGNMENTS

Shall I motor through and finish the assignments for the CAPPA Pregnancy Fitness Educator certification? Am I motivated enough to do so or am I pursuing enough of my eclectic interests?

REASONS I’M NOT PUSHING FORWARD . . . OR ARE THEY EXCUSES?

Just what takes up my time?

Bee-bopping around the social networks . . . <clears throat and averts eyes>

Editing for my clients . . . very important

Spending time with my daughter . . . also very important (though it would be better not to veg quite so much in front of the TV :D)

Hanging out with my hubby . . . again, a very important thing to do, but he isn’t home until 5:00, so I have lots of time when he’s at work.

Getting together with friends . . . another very important thing on my Action Plan and probably one of the only ones that is well-balanced timewise

Errand and grocery shopping . . . I’m pretty good about budgeting my time and getting lots done on any given outing.

Exercise . . . Regular exercise actually makes one more productive. This is one area that should get even more of my attention.

Reading . . . I should be doing more of this as well. My To Be Read list will never get shorter at this rate.

You will notice that housework and meal prep didn’t make the list. That time is actually negligible. Since this is supposed to be my personal year of The Great Declutter, this really should change.

CONCLUSIONS

I’m going to develop and send out my picture book manuscripts.

I’m also going to draw up an outline for my fiction story after researching possible markets for a short story or novella.

You can connect with more blog hoppers starting with Ruth Synder’s post.

13 thoughts on “Wishing for a Work in Progress

  1. Steph,
    A Round of Words in 80 Days sounds like something I’ll have to check out 🙂

    Thanks for participating in the blog hop. It’s been fun learning more about you and your writing.

    Keep seeking God. He’ll guide you into the project(s) of His choosing in His perfect time.

    Best wishes,

    Ruth

    1. Thanks so much for taking the time to pop by, read my posts, and comment. It – and you – are much appreciated. I can’t thank you enough for hosting the blog hop. I did try to comment on your post, but the site wouldn’t let me. 😦 All the best with your writing projects. I look forward to staying in touch. (Let me know if you sign up for Round 2 of A Round of Words. It begins on April 7.)

  2. Steph, now I feel better. I’ve been reading all these posts of people involved in multi-projects and wondering what’s wrong with me. Since my little accident and surgery in March, I’m finding it really hard to get and stay motivated. Wishing your picture book mss. well as they strut their stuff on the editor’s desk.

    1. Sometimes (often) the enormity of what I could be writing, reading, cleaning overwhelms me and I don’t do much of anything. I think having a number of things on the go actually helps. If I am unmotivated in one area – and don’t have a deadline – I can spend some time in another. All the best, Violet. Thanks for visiting.

  3. Been there, done that! I’m one that needs to be held accountable; therefore, I put my goals “out there” on this blog hop….and hope my fellow authors hold me to task!

  4. You certainly have a lot on the go, Steph. Thank you for sharing your projects. I too find that projects get backed up because of life in general but, without the life in general, there’d be no drive to write or do anything, least ways not for me.

Leave a Reply

