Make It Fast

Woman Shopping

True confession . . . I am a spender.

I could blame my mom. She was a spender too. But it’s not her fault. (And her spending was primarily for others. She would often buy herself something and then return it.)

I could blame the kids. But no, they would have been fine without the indulgences over the years.

I know that nine times out of ten (at least), the rush that comes from buying something new wears off almost immediately.

But I have found a new rush . . .

Saying NO!

“No, Stephanie, you don’t need a new dress.”

“No, Stephanie, those shoes are cute, but you don’t need them.”

“No, Stephanie, you don’t need to go through the drive-through. There is plenty of food at home.”

“No, Stephanie, you don’t need to order cake with your tea. You are trying to watch what you eat and save money, right?”

“No, Stephanie, you don’t need a new book. Seriously, how many hundreds do you need on your to-be-read shelves?”

No. No! NO!

If you don’t know him personally, I would like to introduce you to my hubby. We have been married for over 31 years and he is the most unselfish person I know. He works hard – very hard and never resents my selfish indulgences. He rarely wants somethingย  just because he wants it.

But there is one thing he has wanted since we were first married.

He wants to vacation in Jasper, Alberta. This is absolutely, positively his favourite place on earth.

Recently he helped our second born drive from Ontario to Saskatchewan. Dave so wanted to continue. Forgive the cliche, but Alberta was so close he could taste it.

When he returned his desire to head for the Rockies had reignited.

That is why no is one of my new favourite words. If I say no more often, and buckle down to work more diligently, we just might be able to pull it off: my hubby’s dream vacation.

So, what does that have to do with making it fast. Well, if I go on a spending fast, at least cutting back significantly, we may be able to visit the descendants of the marmots and mountain goats that Dave befriended over three decades ago.

Mountain Goat

Where would you like to visit if money was no object? If you can’t afford to travel there, are you willing to say no to other things to make it happen?

 

6 thoughts on “Make It Fast

  1. Andrew Couch

    Sounds like a wonderful reason to say no. I really hope your vacation plans come to fruition “fast”. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Good for you, my friend! Saying no is so hard (especially when it comes to books! haha!). Will your ban be lifted at the conference? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Or do you need to handcuff you somewhere outside of the bookstore? Kidding…..you may have to handcuff me! ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. I’m still trying to decide just how much leeway to give myself in the bookstore, Dar. It’s especially hard when you know more and more of the authors personally. You don’t want to walk past any of their books. Sigh!

Leave a Reply

