Blind Trust

Blind Trust (sm)You know that post in which I said I don’t give five star reviews? Since Amazon’s five stars means “I love it!” I couldn’t not give Sandra Orchard’s newest book, Blind Trust, their top rating. (And in my own little rating system it gets 4.5 stars – because I think 4.75 would just be silly.)

So, why did I like it so much?

Here are a dozen reasons:

1. It was even better than the first book in the series, Deadly Devotion.

2. Sandra skillfully wove in details from the first book as a refresher. However, instead of making it unnecessary to read the first book in the Port Aster Secrets series, it gives compelling reasons to grab a copy.

3. Since I’m relationship-driven in all areas of life, I very much enjoy a story with three-dimensional characters, those who are authentic and “real.” Blind Trust is populated by just this kind of people – even the ones I don’t like.

4. Relationships begun in the first book progress naturally. It reminds me of watching my favourite TV shows. Even though the episodes are complete in themselves, there is an underlying progression that may or may not take centre stage from time to time.

5. The fact that Sandra built on the characters, relationships, and storyline of the first book was one of the reasons that I read the book so quickly.

6. Characters may edge out storyline on my list of important story elements, but even the most amazing of them can’t make up for a flat, predictable story. No worries there. This story is anything but. It is filled with suspense, twists and turns, and just enough breadcrumbs to make it all believable.

7. One of the secondary characters has become one of my favourites. I want to be like her when I grow up . . . in many ways, at least.

8. One of the things that makes this story so rich in detail without causing it to drag is the amount of research the author obviously did before sending it into the world. (As a writer, this is one of my least favourite parts of the process, so I say, “Kudos!”)

9. The author’s research into things that didn’t previously interest me drew me in. She shared just enough information to give it authenticity without weighing me down with “too many facts.”

10. This may seem like a backhanded compliment, but as an editor, certain things pop out at me while I read. (It’s hard to put the editor’s hat aside completely.) This was not the case with this book, and that is a rarity.

11. Blind Trust reminded me of Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back. I’m sure I have you scratching your head. The first movie was complete in itself. However, the second had to be followed by a third . . . and apparently, a fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, and ninth, but that’s another story. Back to the Port Aster series. Blind Trust is much more open-ended than Deadly Devotion.

Therefore . . .

12. It left me chomping at the bit for the third installment in the Port Aster Secrets series.

To learn more about the author and her other books, pop by Sandra Orchard’s blog.

You can also connect with Sandra by visiting her Facebook page.

In exchange for this review, I received an advance copy of Blind Trust from the publisher, Revell: a division of Baker Publishing Group.

5 thoughts on “Blind Trust

Leave a Reply

