What is Rita Writing?

Fountain Pen Pic

My friend and fellow WWC (Women Writing for Christ) member Rita Appel shares insights into her writing.

Welcome, Rita!

Thank you, Stephanie, for inviting me to participate in this blog tour, and for posting this to your blog since I do not have one yet.

What are you working on?

I write poetry, devotions, and allegories. I also combine two of my loves: writing and mixed media artwork in art journaling. All of these chronicle my journey through mental illness as I learn to thrive physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually.

How does your work differ from others of its genre?

My writing is of my journey to wholeness: the exceptional, the good, the bad and the ugly.

Why do you write what you do?

I write primarily as an act of worship to bring glory to God for what He has done in my life and to share what He can and will do in others’ lives. As well, I write because mental illness robs one of their self-worth, dignity and hope, leaving fear, insecurity and shame in its wake. My goal is to come alongside others, even if only one, and help them navigate a part of their journey to wholeness, so that they may, in turn, help another along their way.

How does your writing process work?

I had not thought about how I write the way I do, but I think that my writing comes from a need to understand my journey. Why do I act, think and feel the way I do? Is there are better way to travel this path I’m on? I write from a place of trying to help people understand mental illness, those who live the journey and those who love the journeyers.

2 thoughts on “What is Rita Writing?

Leave a Reply

