Everyday Addictions

As long as I stay away from this . . .

Coffee Shop

And this . . .

Stacks of Books

And this . . .

 Fabric

(fun and fashionable clothes)

I do much better hanging onto this . . .

Bag of Money

Breakthrough at the Bookstore

Yesterday I had a minor breakthrough. I went into a bookstore and didn’t buy anything for myself. Yes, I did buy a book for my hubby and four books to give to the moms I attend as a labour doula but nothing for me specifically. If I bought five or more bargain books, they took 50 percent off the lowest sticker price. (Temptation, thy name is discount books.) However, we can call this a victory – albeit a small one.

The Slippery Slope of the Sidewalk Sale

A few days back I went shopping with my daughter and her BFF. (Temptation, thy other name is sidewalk sale.) I did splurge on new, full price top to wear on my anniversary. (So cute!) I also made another couple of purchases. The upside (besides the new pretty things) was that I went through my closet and my hubby’s and put together a garbage bag and a half full of things to donate.

Revenge on the Restaurant

And the issue of eating out . . .

There’s a simple solution. Tidy up the main floor and invite friends here for dessert and coffee or a meal. (Heck, my best friends don’t even care if I do Step 1.)

Money Management

I, in no way, intend to minimize the tragedy of “more serious” addictions, but I do want to acknowledge that there are things in my life that need attention, things that I’ve allowed to get out of hand.

It isn’t bad to spend money on ourselves from time to time, but we all know there are times the money would best be spent elsewhere – or put into savings.

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal” (Matthew 6:19-20 ESV).

Leave a Reply

