Facing Challenges

Stopwatch and Track

In July I completed Kimberley Payne’s new fitness challenge. (You can sign up for the next session that starts in September by following the link.) This challenge came at exactly the right time to give me the boost I needed to eat better and exercise more.

I followed up by signing on for Rob and Jillian Tafeen’s 7-Day No Sugar Challenge on Facebook. It was a great educational experience. (Sugar hides in many unexpected places.) It was also a great week of self-discipline. The Tafeens also run more in-depth 60-day challenges you may be interested in. You can find them on Facebook.

This month I’m participating in Pam Farrel’s challenge for Christian wives. I just began today but am looking forward to the next month. If you’re interested, you can still sign up.

I had planned to begin working through The Artist’s Way this month, but I think I will leave it for September or October, depending on how my schedule looks.

As you can tell I like to challenge myself. And doing so with a group of like-minded individuals keeps me accountable and allows me to encourage a whole new group of friends, something this extrovert revels in.

That’s one of the main reasons I love participating in A Round of Words in 80 Days – even though I don’t always get my check-ins posted on time. (This one is either late for Sunday or early for Wednesday. It’s all a matter of perspective.)

ROW LogoSo, here are my goals for this week, writing-related and otherwise:

Editing Goals

I completed a project a day early so I can power through the first of three major projects that have come my way. (I will spend much less time than usual on social networks this week.)

Writing Goals

In John 14:15, Jesus is quoted as saying, “If you love me, you will keep my commandments” (ESV).

While this is not limited to the words He spoke while on earth, for many years, I have wanted to do a study of those particular commandments.

Instead of doing so exclusively for myself, I am now working on a devotional that I may self-published titled “If You Love Me.”

* * * * *

I may or may not write one of the four articles re: seniors’ living that are due at the end of the month.

* * * * *

I will write two guest posts this week, but I’m not sure if I’ll get any posts written for my website or anything more written to post here.

* * * * *

I won’t likely have the opportunity to work on any children’s picture books this week, but I hope to get back at it next week.

Reading Goals

I hope to finish Proofreading Secrets of Best-Selling Authors and Grammar Girl Presents the Ultimate Writing Guide for Students by the end of August.

Fitness Goals

I want to follow through with the momentum I’ve developed over the last five weeks.

Therefore . . .

I will walk for 30 minutes total each day (M-F).

I will do two upper body workouts and two lower body workouts.

I will eat well at least five days this week.

I will drink at least 2L of water each day.

Miscellaneous Goals

I will prepare supper from scratch at least five days.

I will wash the dishes every day.

I will do at least one household chore I’ve been putting off.

Leave a Reply

